Month 11

Dear Benjamin,
Stop growing so damned fast! How is it that you only have one more month to go before you’re a year old!? Where has the time gone? I seriously feel like I blinked and a moment ago you were my tee tiny baby. Now you’re a sturdy, crawling, cruising and rolling 11 month old!


You are getting better and better at crawling. You’re transitioning away from the army crawl, and are up on your hands and knees more and more every day. You don’t like to crawl on hard surfaces, and will bear walk on hands and feet instead. You are so curious about everything, and you want to go EVERYWHERE. We had to baby proof all of the cabinets so you wouldn’t pull anything breakable out. We’re constantly rescuing you from when you get stuck under small tables and chairs, or when you try to go near plugs and outlets. You definitely keep us on our toes.


You’ve been going from tummy to sitting for a little while now, but you just figured out that you can do that in your crib. So, now when we put you down for naps, or for the night, you’ll sit up, or even stand up (we’ve had to lower your crib mattress twice this week…), and then you don’t know what to do from there. So, you’ll cry. Your dad and I go in, lay you back down, cover you with your blanket and turn Scout back on, and then the whole process repeats itself. Did I mention that I’m tired?


You’re doing great with food. You absolutely love yogurt, specifically vanilla yogurt. Oranges are still a go to favorite of yours as well. Right now I think your very favorite thing is blueberries. You’ll eat half a carton in one sitting….it’s amazing. I did find out that you are not a fan of chickpeas. We’ll plop one in your mouth, your nose scrunches up and then you spit that offending little pea back out. It’s pretty funny to watch.


I think you’re slowly starting to wean yourself. You’ve started cutting your nursing sessions shorter and shorter. The past two nights, you only nursed on one side before you pulled off and went to sleep. And, this morning you did the same thing too. It makes me sad that this chapter is already starting to close for us. I definitely want to keep nursing you as long as you’re interested. I guess we’ll see how that goes. I think you’re more interested in food that you can feed yourself versus snuggling and nursing with mom….sniffle…


You’re Physical Therapy is still going well, but I think you’ll start to go down to every other week, instead of once a week, which is great news! Your therapist is in love with you, and thinks that you’re incredibly smart!  


Right now you’re just a crawling machine. You want to go everything, see everything, explore, manipulate, and figure everything out that you can. And, my goodness if anyone gets in your way. You have one hell of a temper little man, and an ear piercing scream to go with it. I love watching you explore your world. It’s so much to just follow you around the house.  


I believe that you’ve said your first word. Your Dad and I aren’t counting “mama,” or “dada,” because we can’t say for sure when you started using those with purpose. So, your first word is “cat!” You literally only say /t/ /t/. But you only say it when you see a cat, so it’s pretty clear what you’re saying. We’re still working on sign language with you, but it’s pretty hit or miss. I’m sure you’ll start to get the hang out it soon.


Benjamin, I can’t believe how much you’re growing and changing. It’s just remarkable. You are remarkable. I think you are one amazing and intelligent little boy and I can’t wait to see what’s next with you!


I love you so much!
Momma

Leave a Reply

