Lullabies

I sing my kids lullabies.  I’m not the best singer in the world, but I’m not awful, and my kids seems to like it.  This started when Henry was a teeny tiny baby, and I would sing to him as I would nurse him to sleep.  These lullabies also came in handy when he was crying so hard and was inconsolable.  I would sing to him, and it would calm him down pretty quickly.

Over the past 4+ years I’ve collected 6 songs that I sing to Henry:
Baby Mine – traditional lullaby – found in Dumbo
Summertime – Ella Fitzgerald’s version
Blue Skies – Ella Fitzgerald’s version
L.O.V.E. –  Nat King Cole
Good Night Song (Taken from Daniel Tiger – but the tune is made up)
Book of Love – Peter Gabriel (I change the ending from “You ought to give me wedding rings” to “You give me everything.”
His favorite by far is Baby Mine, and that’s the song I’ve been singing to him the longest.  He now asks for it almost every night before bed, and he’ll sometimes ask me to sing it when he gets really upset, or wakes up from a nightmare.  I’ve sang these songs to him so much at bedtime that he now has a pavlovian response to it, and it makes him sleepy when I do it.
Since I was pregnant with Ben I’ve been looking for songs to sing to him – Henry’s list I’ve associated so much with Henry, it would feel weird to sing it to someone else.  So far, I have three songs that I’ll sing to Ben:
Edelweiss
Too La Rue La Rue La – Irish Lullaby
I Can’t Help Falling In Love – Elvis
Ben seems to have the same reaction to lullabies as Henry does.  He loves them, and they will calm him down whenever he’s upset.
I love singing to my boys, and I love how much they seem to like that time with me.  I hope that they remember me singing these songs to them, and that they mean as much to them as it does to me.
Leave a Reply

