Mastitis…

I think I’ve had my first case of mastitis. I noticed at work yesterday that I had a plugged duct, so I knew that I’d need to nurse Ben a little more to help get it unclogged. However, around noonish, my body was really starting to hurt. I was having major aches and pains, chills, followed by body sweats. At one point I literally had sweat running down my back and the entire underside of my hair was drenched.
I barely made it to the end of the day, but I went home and put a heating pad on my lower back, which felt really good. I tried to nurse Ben a few times on the affected side (right side), and each time it helped.  

Around dinner time, I hit a major fever. My body felt unbelievably hot, I don’t think I’ve ever felt that hot before. I skipped dinner, because I just couldn’t eat, and instead napped on the sofa with my heating pad.  

Somehow I found the strength to make it up stairs and was able to lie down. I kept oscillating between sweating profusely and freezing.    

I managed to nurse Ben for bedtime, which helped my breast feel so much better. I managed to take 3 ibuprofen, took my temp which was 103.4 and then I went and passed out in bed. 

Ben woke up a little while later, which is abnormal for him, and when he woke up, I got up to go to the bathroom, and I noticed that I had completely sweated through my clothes, as in tank top and flannel pants stuck to me. My sheets and pillow were also soaked through. My hair was completely wet and plastered to my head. Ben managed to put himself back to sleep, and I dried myself off as best I could. And, then I went back to bed.  

Ben woke up again at 12:20, and I got up to nurse him, and again I felt better afterward.  

While pumping at work today, I only got half of what I usually do out of my breast, and I noticed that I have red marks and spots that look almost like bruises. I called my midwife’s office to ask their opinion and they’re calling in a round of antibiotics for me. I’m really hoping that it starts to work soon…This shit is beyond painful.

Leave a Reply

