Month 9

Dear Benjamin,
You are now 9 months old! I know I say this every month, but I am just in general shock at how quickly the time is flying by! How do I slow it down??? I really need for it to slow down! I took you to your 9 month appointment last week. You weigh 21 lbs, and are 28.5 inches long, basically, still growing like a weed.


You are taking off developmentally! You are starting to use baby sign language to communicate. We’ve been working on “more,” “all done,” and “milk.” Right now you can sign “all done,” but you haven’t been doing this 100% of the time, but you’re starting to figure it out. You’ve been signing for “milk” for a while now, and you usually do it when you’re upset.


Last night, while on the changing pad (being carefully watched by me) you rolled over from your back to your tummy! I was literally stunned! I called your dad over to watch and rolled you back to your back, and you did it again! We both smiled so big from ear to ear!  


You’re starting to pull up on things, namely me, your dad and Gram, but I hope it won’t be too much longer before you start to try on furniture. You’re still not crawling, but you’re able to get down onto your tummy easier every day.  


Because you’re still not crawling or mobile in any way, I’ve had you assessed by the infant/toddler program here in NC. You’re measuring right on track for your cognitive, social and emotional milestones, but you’re behind on your gross and fine motor skills. I’m getting all the paper work together to start you on some physical therapy to help you learn to crawl, and then to walk.


Just the other day you learned to clap! It was the cutest thing ever! You were so happy when you figured it out, and even more happy because you could see how happy I was at your achievement.


You’re still a great eater and you’re still nursing like a pro. My favorite time of day is when I’m nursing you in your room before bed. You’re so cuddly and want to snuggle with me, and I just soak it all in. You nurse to sleep every night, and if I’d let you, you would stay latched on to me all night. I have to break the latch so I can lay you down in your bed each night. You’re starting to get attached to your blanket. You want to snuggle with it each time before bed.


I love you so much my Benjamin. I wish I could put into words how much I love you and how much you mean to me. You are my life, my love and my reasons for everything. Thank you for being my sweet boy.


Love,

Momma

Leave a Reply

