Zombie

I am a zombie. My baby is turning me into a zombie.

Sunday night, J and I got <5 hours of sleep.

Monday night, J and I got <4 hours of sleep.

Tuesday night J and I got < 3 hours of sleep (this was a sick day for me, because I literally could not function in the morning)

Wednesday night, J and I got <6 hours of sleep.

I feel like all I can do is shuffle around and grunt/groan. I literally fell into the bathroom door this morning as I got up to get ready for work.

I really have no idea what to do to fix his sleep. Most of the time he goes to sleep really well. We’ve even started to lay him down completely awake, and he will put himself to sleep with almost no crying.

But then, he’ll wake up anywhere from 30 – 90 minutes later and start screaming his head off. We usually let him cry for 10 minutes to see if he can put himself back down to sleep, but he doesn’t. I’ve tried going in to check on him and reassure him that he’s ok (without picking him up), and he cries harder every time I leave. He escalates the crying to screaming every time I leave the room – I tried that approach for 45 minutes with no winding down of the screaming at all.

I’ve tried letting him cry, but he literally will not stop, and I can’t stand to hear him scream, cry and shriek, choke and cough, which then causes him to cry even more. When J and I went into his room last night to finally pick him up, his blankets and sheet were wet from his tears – and that just broke my heart.

I’ve got to come up with a sleep solution for him that we can implement this weekend… What worked for you?

It’s a good thing he’s cute…

Leave a Reply

