Month 3

Dear Ben,
You are three months old! Time is flying by way too fast! I can’t believe how big you’re getting and how much you’re changing in just a short period of time. So much seems to have changed this past month.  


You’re neck control is so much better, in fact the other night we faced you outward in the baby carrier that we have, and you did absolutely great. Tummy time is getting better every day. You’ll go for longer and longer stretches before you completely lose your shit and scream your head off.


Just this past weekend we moved you into your room. It feels strange not to have you at arms reach any more. I’m not sure if I’m emotionally ready for the move, but we were all waking each other up recently when you were in our room, so the move just seemed to make sense. You’ll sleep in your crib from about 9:30 – 4:00, and then you’ll wake up to nurse. I’ll feed you, and then you go back into your bed for another 2-3 hours.  


When you were 11 weeks old, I returned to work. The transition from being with you all day to being away from you for most of the day has been hard. I miss you all the time. I find myself constantly looking at pictures of you and thinking about you – which has caused my shirts to get wet at work a few times. I do know that you are being well taken care of during the day. Your Gram is there for you the whole time, and she give you so much love while I’m away at work. I wish I could be home with you, but that doesn’t seem to be in the cards for us right now.        


You just went through your three month growth spurt. You were eating nonstop for a week! Everything I could possibly pump at work you were eating, and some days you were eating even more. Then, when I got home from work, you would nurse almost constantly. Besides the added eating, you can definitely tell that you’ve grown just by looking at you. Your cheeks have filled out, your little legs have the most adorable rolls on them, and you just seem huge! You’re wearing 6-9 month clothing too, which just boggles my mind.


You’re also cooing and “talking” soo much right now. I love to hear your voice and listen to you. And, this weekend, your dad, Gram, Henry and I got to hear you laugh! It was the most precious sound in the world. There’s just nothing like it. You’re such a happy baby, smiling so much and watching and taking in the world around you. Keep those smiles and laughs coming!  


At 3 Months Old you LOVE:

Being held

Eating

People singing to you

People making funny faces/ noises at you

Being outside

Having your diaper changed

Henry
At 3 Months Old you HATE:

Being hungry

Being tired

Being over/ understimulated

Being tickled (although it sometimes makes you laugh)

Being made to wait. You are very impatient, and when you want something, you want it then. I’ve told your dad that you have three levels 1. Happy, 2. Starting to get upset, but not upset yet and 3. Defcon 4


I love you with all of my heart. I’m enthralled with watching you grow and change. I’m excited to watch you grow into a little boy, and see how your personality develops.

Leave a Reply

