Gearing Up 

I had my 35 week midwife appointment yesterday.  
I told her about all the pressure and pain I’ve been feeling lately and she asked if I feel it on my feet, sitting and/or laying down. I told her all of the above. I had to be tested for Group B Strep, so since I was already undressed, she asked if she could check me to see where the baby’s head was. I wasn’t crazy about getting checked, but because of the intense pressure that I’m feeling I consented.  

My midwife checked me, and all the while didn’t say anything. When she was done, she sat down and explained that the baby’s head is fully engaged in my pelvis. She said that sometimes the baby’s head will go back up and then move back down, but that my baby’s head wasn’t going anywhere – it’s fully in my pelvis and that’s why I’m feeling all the pressure. She said that from here on out, it’s only going to get worse as the baby’s head moves lower and lower. She said right now I’m at a -2 station.

I asked her if I was dilated or effaced at all, and she said yes. At first she didn’t say anything after that, and I had to prod her to tell me how much. She smiled and said that I’m 70% effaced and am 2 cm dilated. She went on to say that she thinks that I’ll only have about another 2-3 weeks before the baby comes. That is such exciting news to me! I feel like I have a real chance of going into labor on my own!!!

I’m to start drinking red raspberry leaf tea this week, and next week she wants me to start taking evening primrose oil. I’m still doing my walking and yoga squats. All this pressure/pain that I’m feeling is a whole lot more welcome now that I know that there’s a good reason behind it!

Leave a Reply

