Growing Up

Dear Henry,
We’ve been taking a lot of walks lately. I’m currently 8 months pregnant with your younger sibling, and we walk so I can stay active. You’ll either walk with me (and sometimes your dad) or you’ll be pushed a long on your tricycle. I love these times with you. You’re so talkative and inquisitive, and I could listen to you talk about what’s going on inside your head for hours.Last night, your dad and I were taking a walk after dinner, and you came happily with us. We were almost home, when a car drove past us, and you announced “That was an old lady driving that car.” As it was almost dark, I have no idea if it was an old lady or not, but your dad asked you “how do you know that was an old lady?” You thought for a moment and then replied “because it’s routine.” It’s not. We don’t usually take walks at 8:30 at night, but your dad and I went with it. You’re dad then asked you “What does routine mean?” And again, you thought for a moment and then you proudly announced “predictable.” You stumbled a little on the pronunciation, but needless to say your dad and I were stunned for a moment at your brilliance.  


Sometimes it’s really hard to believe that you’re not even 4 yet. You have such a big vocabulary and act like such a little man. I’m so proud of the way you’re growing up. You’re so smart, but beyond that, you’re incredibly empathetic. You love helping people and doing things to make people feel better.

We have an elderly couple who live next door to us: Mr. Frank and Ms. Martha. Mr. Frank recently had a stroke that left him in a wheel chair. At least once a day you go over to their house by yourself to hang out with them and to brighten their day. You can literally see Mr. Frank perk up every time you go over. You love spending time with them. I’m not sure exactly what you do over there, but they love you, and it’s clear you love them. I hope that relationship can go on for as long as possible.

I love watching you grow from my baby to the little boy you’re becoming. I can’t wait to see you as a big brother. I know you’ll be fabulous at it.

I love you so much,

Momma

Leave a Reply

