Week 31

Dear Baby
You’re the size of a bunch of asparagus this week! You’re measuring around 16 inches in length and are weighing around 3 lbs. You’re brain is growing like crazy right now, developing more and more and getting wrinklier by the day. Your eyes are developing too. You can now tell the difference between light and dark, which is super cool. And, now that your irises are working, all 5 of your senses are in working order! WHOOHOO!

Everything is going well for me except for the Gestational Diabetes. I was put on Metformin a while back, and the other day my midwife increased the dosage. Well, the drug from the beginning wasn’t agreeing with my body, and on Saturday, it had me throwing up and in so much pain that I couldn’t stand it any more. I took myself off of the medication without consulting my midwife, and now I’m just hoping that I don’t get a stern lecture from her. Without being on that awful medication, I feel fantastic. I have energy, I’m sleeping well (did I just jinx myself?) and things are sailing pretty smoothly. 

I am worried that you’re getting too big. My fundal height measured 32 cm at my last appointment, and it should pretty much match the number of gestational weeks that I am, so at the time it was measuring two cm more than it should. So, my next appointment I got to get an ultrasound to assess how large you are. I’m starting to worry that I’ll be induced like I was with your brother. I guess we’ll see how it goes.

I love you. Keep growing, but reasonably so,

Momma 

Leave a Reply

