Reeling

I had my 28 week midwife appointment yesterday.

They got my weight, which stayed the same since the last two weeks.  I then had my blood pressure taken.  Every reading so far has been a perfect 120/80, this time though, it was 138/84.

It was the first time that I had been taken to an exam room since around week 14.  We listened to the baby’s heart with the doppler, and it was measuring around 160 bpm.  She measured my bump, and I’m measuring in at 29 cm, so pretty close to where I should be.

Then we started talking.  She’s concerned about my blood pressure.  She said that she looked at my chart from my pregnancy with Henry, and that around 30 weeks is where my BP started to go up and get out of control.  So, she had me go for blood work to start checking for preeclampsia.  That word in and of itself is terrifying.  I never did develop it when I was pregnant with Henry, but I think if my pregnancy had gone any longer that I would have.  At this point, I’m not sure if my BP was high because I’m currently a little sick (stupid cold) or if it’s because of the pregnancy.  I’m really hoping that it will go down at my next appointment, but we’ll see.

Next, we started to talk about the gestational diabetes.  She’s concerned that my fasting levels are still too high (around 100), and as the pregnancy progresses, they’re more likely to keep getting higher.  So, she started me on a medication to help with the fasting numbers.  It’s not insulin, but I don’t know the name of the medication yet.  I go and pick it up this afternoon.

I also have an appointment for the pediatric cardiologist.  We go for that ultrasound on April 7 at 11:00, and then almost immediately following, I have a midwife appointment at 2:15 to go over the results.  She told me to ask for the results before we go so we can just take them with us to the appointment.  I’m nervous about this one.  I know that everything is probably going to be just fine, but I’m still worried.  Just thinking that there might be a hole in the baby’s heart causes stress in me like you wouldn’t believe.

Yeah, so, overall I left this appointment feeling overwhelmed and worried.  I hope the appointments on the 7th have better news for us…

Leave a Reply

