Shadow on Heart Update

I had my midwife appointment on Friday. Overall it went really well. I voiced some concerns that I had about how my appointments have been going so far.-Taking forever to get back to me when I call or email

-Asking to see a nutritionist and being put off repeatedly

-Being told that the baby has a shadow on the heart and then that midwife refusing to tell us what that meant

We addressed all of these issues, came to a general consensus and were able to move forward. So, I felt really great about that.

I also had the ultrasound that was to look for/at the shadow on the baby’s heart. It’s still there, although much smaller. My midwife thinks that everything is going to be fine, but to be on the safe side, she is scheduling an ultrasound with a pediatric cardiologist to ultrasound the heart just to make sure. The pediatric cardiologist’s equipment will be able to see detail at a higher resolution, and that ultrasound should definitively tell us if there’s something wrong or not.

If the shadow on the heart is something, then it means that there’s a tiny hole in the baby’s heart. We didn’t talk about exactly what it means if there is a hole in the heart, so, we’ll cross that bridge if and when we come to it. From what I’ve read online, it seems that these things are somewhat common, and that they usually close on their own. My midwife did stress to us that she doesn’t think that we have any reason whatsoever to worry, and that there’s a 90% chance that everything is perfectly fine.

I should hear from the pediatric cardiologist this week, and that ultrasound should be this week or next week. Then, I go back to the midwife on the 22nd for my 28 week appointment.

So, things are stressful but ok, if that makes any kind of sense.

Leave a Reply

