Week 24

Dear Baby,
This week you’re the size of a cantaloupe! At 24 weeks, you’re getting more and more ready for life outside. You’re starting to gain weight and add adorable baby fat to your little body. Your skin is also starting to change from transparent to opaque. You have hair, but at the moment it’s white. The color will change soon, and I can’t wait to see if you’re going to be blonde like your brother or brunette like me.  

Right now I’m just trying to manage my gestational diabetes. My after meal numbers are great, but my fasting numbers are all over the place. I’m trying to get help for it, but that’s turning out to be more difficult than expected. Because of several reasons, I’m falling out of love with my midwife and I’m thinking about switching practices. Your dad and I are touring a nearby birth center this week to see if it will be a good fit for us.

I feel you moving more and more. Recently I’ve been finding myself grunting from your kicks. Not because they hurt, but because they’re so strong and seemingly out of nowhere that it takes me by surprise. I love feeling you move. I really do. Every time I feel it, it makes me feel close and connected to you. I usually feel you move whenever I’m sitting down and being still. That rarely happens at work, but when I’m home I feel it all the time. I can’t wait for your movements to be strong and consistent enough for Henry to feel it. I can’t wait to see the look on his face.

By the way, your brother is very concerned with how you’re going to come out. He told me the other day that he wants me to be put back together and not broken when you come out. He’s also afraid that your kicks will break me. It’s the cutest thing ever.

I’m working hard to make sure you getting everything that you need, and nothing that you don’t. I’ll continue that trend for the rest of your life. Keep growing (reasonably so) and know that you are beyond loved.

Momma

Leave a Reply

