Week 23

Dear Baby,
We’ve made it 23 weeks! You’re as big as a grapefruit right now. About 11 inches long and weighing around 1 pound. Your face is fully formed, and now you’re just needing a little extra fat to fill in those adorable little cheeks. You’re also listening to what’s going on around you. You can hear my heartbeat, voice and tummy rumbles. And, you can hear some outside sounds if they’re loud enough. I’m pretty sure you heard most of the Deadpool movie that we went to last weekend (you’ll think that’s awesome when you’re older).

What’s new with me? Well, I’ve been sort of diagnosed with gestational diabetes. I’ve been tracking my blood sugar with my meter like my midwife asked me to, and without diet control, all of my readings are high. So, I’m back on the gestational diabetes diet, and I’ve started walking again (really hard to do when you’re exhausted from turning food into a baby). My fasting sugars are still high, and I might be put on medication for it. I’m hopefully going to meet with a nutritionist soon to try to figure things out.

I’ve also stated to get your nursery ready. We organized it (again), ordered a crib, hung up all the clothes we had from your brother. I washed receiving blankets and burp clothes and put them away. I’ve also made a list of what to buy and when so that we can keep on schedule with our purchasing. 

Last week we had an ultrasound of you, where they found a shadow on your heart. I’m to go back in 4 weeks for another ultrasound so they can get a better look at it. It seems like this pregnancy has been one big scare after another. What with my progesterone levels bottoming out and then having to check for viability, and then the diabetes, and now with a shadow on your heart. I’m hoping that everything is ok, and that you’re going to be perfect and alright. I worry about you.

Keep growing and know that I love you with all of my heart,

Momma

One thought on “Week 23

Leave a Reply

