Week 16-17

Dear Baby,

Sorry for combining two weeks.  I’ve been on winter break and I honestly haven’t wanted to touch a piece of technology.  Last week you were the size of an avocado, and this week you’ve grown to the size of an onion.  The amazing transformation that’s happened is that you can hear now!  The tiny bones in your ears are forming and allow you to hear my voice, and perhaps even others as well.  Your hair is growing, and your taste buds are developing.  You’re also finally starting to bulk up by adding some fat to your body.
What’s been up with me the past two weeks?  My bronchitis seems to be finally getting better.  I’m still coughing and sneezing some, but I’ve finished my last round of antibiotics, so I’m hoping I’ll be done with this crud once and for all.  I’ve been having some crazy dreams….really weird ones.  Everything I’ve read says that it’s normal, and fairly common, but it’s still weird that it’s a pregnancy symptom.  I also broke down and bought a body pillow.  I’d been sleeping pretty badly, waking up sore and stiff, and ever since I got it, I’ve been sleeping much better.  It takes up over half the bed….but your dad promises that he doesn’t mind, at least not that much.
We’ve got your nursery pretty much laid out.  It’s going to be cramped and over crowded, but there’s not much we can do about that.  I’ve also got out a bunch of your brothers baby clothes and washed them so that they’ll be ready for you.  I just need to buy some baby hangers so I can hang up a bunch of stuff.  I’m really excited for our ultrasound next week!  I can’t wait to see you on the big screen!
In other news I’ve been doing some reading on how I can prepare for your birth the best that I can.  I’m reading “HypnoBirthing” and one of my coworkers has offered to let me borrow her HypnoBaby scripts when she’s done with them.  I really want a calm, peaceful and natural birth for you.  I tired to have one with your brother, but it didn’t workout quite like I wanted.  We hired the same doula, and I’m going to try for a water birth again.  I’m really excited about doing this all again.  And, I’m so excited about being your mom.
I love you!  Keep growing,
Momma
Leave a Reply

