Week 14

Dear Baby,
This week you’re as a big as a lemon! The cool news is that you’ve doubled in weight since last week! Your kidneys are making urine and your liver and spleen are functioning as well. You’re developing more and more each day. This week you’re also growing lanugo – a peach fuzzy substance that covers you all over. It’ll help keep you nice and warm while you finish cooking.

Last week I came down with a pretty horrible cold that kept me out of work for 3 days. It turned into bronchitis and for Thursday and Friday I barely got out of bed. I’m starting to feel better today, but it is taking me a while to get over this stupid cold.  

Other developments with me this week….this is a bit embarrassing to admit, but incontinence…..Especially with all of the coughing and sneezing I’ve been doing, it seems like every time I cough or sneeze I pee. It’s so embarrassing, and demoralizing. I hope it doesn’t last through the whole pregnancy and that it’s only made worse by the bronchitis.

Everything that I read says that I should be getting my appetite back about now, and I’m not sure if it’s because of being sick, but it’s really been hard for me to eat lately. I have my breakfast sitting in front of me right now (it’s 10:45, and I’ve been looking at it since 8:00) and I can hardly bring myself to eat it. I need to, because I don’t want to throw up, but ugh, I’m just over food right now.

I need to call this week and schedule my 18 week ultrasound. I’m excited about it. You’ll be a lot bigger and look more and more like a baby. I’m still having trouble deciding if we should find out your sex. I go back and forth on the subject. I really wanted to wait and be surprised with your brother, but your dad wore me down into finding out. So, part of me really wants to wait this time, but I also want to know so that if you’re a girl, I can prepare by getting some girly things. I have a couple weeks to decide, so hopefully I’ll be able to make up my mind.

I love you so much. Keep growing,

Momma

One thought on “Week 14

Leave a Reply

