First Official Prenatal Appointment 

I had a midwife appointment yesterday. Overall it went really well. 
The first thing they had me do when I got there was to pay my deductible…..that was fun. From everyone else that I talk to, they never have to pay anything until their 3rd trimester. My practice requires full deductible payment at your 10 week appointment.

Then I was weighed, I lost two lbs….yay morning sickness. My blood pressure is good. I got my flu shot while I was there, and then my midwife came in. We talked for a while about what kind of testing I want done during the pregnancy. So, I was given a list of codes and names of tests and I need to call my insurance company today to see what they’ll cover.  

We then talked about some things that have come up recently. My fasting blood sugars are high (110ish) so, I’m to eat a meal right before I go to bed to see if that helps. If it doesn’t they might put me on medication. I talked to her about the fact that my hair is seriously falling out (as in almost bald on top), and she sent me to the lab and I had 9 vials of blood taken to check a myriad of things – my glucose levels, thyroid, testosterone and a few other things I can’t remember. So I’m waiting on all of those results, and hopefully I’ll have them soon.

As far as the pregnancy is going, everything is fine. I heard the heartbeat yesterday! It was 181 bpm. No bleeding, no spotting, no cramping. So, I think things are really great. My nausea is still awful, and I’m really wanting that to go away…..I hate morning sickness. And, of course ever since I posted that I thought it was getting better, of course it comes to bite me and I’ve been throwing up several more times a day – hence the weight loss.

Right now I’m really looking forward to the weekend and then Thanksgiving break so that I can have a rest.

  

Leave a Reply

