Week 9

Dear Baby,
You’re now the size of an olive! While that still seems really small, it’s pretty amazing considering that just a few short weeks ago you were the size of an apple seed. Your placenta is forming, and will start taking over for your developmental needs within the next few weeks (which means I’ll be off of my progesterone suppliments soon). You’re moving around a lot, wiggling your fingers and toes. I can’t feel it yet, but I’m so excited to start feeling you move. This week you’ve also graduated from being an embryo, and you’re now referred to as a fetus. Regardless what the technical term is, you’re still my baby.  

I can’t seem to shake this morning sickness. The nausea level is just awful. I swear I always feel like I’m about to throw up. Like things are just waiting in my throat, and If I swallow or breathe wrong that everything will come back up. It’s only by sheer force of will that I’m not throwing up as often as I feel like I need to. The past several days have been really hard: 100% nauseous, 100% of the time. Beside the nausea, my bloating and gas have been a lot better, and I feel almost normal.

I’m really excited about this pregnancy. I’m excited for you. I can’t wait until we can start to put your room together, and start to make plans for you, and buy things for you. Beyond all, I can’t wait to hold you and marvel at you. I’m so excited for you to have a brother, and Henry is excited for you too. He says that he wants a baby brother and not a baby sister. But, if you’re a girl, he’ll come around. I hope you both are good friends and will always be there for each other.  

I love you so much, keep growing!

Momma

Leave a Reply

