Dinner

I’m not sure how the household responsibilities are split up at your house, but at mine J usually does the cooking. Cooking helps relax him and keep his thoughts focused and he really enjoys it. As I do not enjoying cooking dinner, I’m happy to let him take over the that task. However, with the start of school and J having after school rehearsals and with competition season and Friday night football games looming around the corner, that means that dinner falls on my shoulders for several nights of the week.

I don’t like cooking. I can do it, I’d say that I’m fairly good at it, but I don’t like the pressure of having to have meal put on the table in X amount of time. It stresses me out and I just don’t like it. So, when I do cook, I like quick, easy and good meals. I found this meal not too long ago doing an internet search and it has been a big hit in my house, therefore I thought I’d share.

Zucchini and Feta Chicken

Ingredients:
2 Zucchinis
1 Lemon
Feta Cheese
Olive Oil
Chicken Breast – however many you need (we usually do 4 or 5 so we have leftovers)

Preheat your oven to 400
Get out your roasting pan, and pour in some olive oil so that the bottom is thinly coated.
Slice the lemon and put half of the slices in the pan. Add the chicken over top of the slices of lemon. Add salt and pepper to the chicken. Place the other half of the lemon on top of the chicken.
Cut the zucchini in half lengthwise, and then cut down width – making half moon shapes. Add the Zucchini to the pan. Add a bit more salt and pepper if you’d like.
Drizzle the top with a little bit of olive oil and add as much feta on top as you’d like.
Put in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until done.

20130826-124927.jpg
I forgot to take a picture when it came out if the oven, but here’s the before.
I usually have a pot of brown rice going on the stove as the chicken is in the oven.

This is a great 30 minute meal – from prep to table, and it tastes really good too. If you try it out, let me know how it goes.

One thought on “Dinner

  1. what! this looks so simple and delicious. I hate cooking. I HATE COOKING. I always feel like it’s so freaking complicated. But this… this is so so so doable. I’m going to see if Tyler will “allow” me to cook this (he has trouble dealing with the “smells” of cooking in the house…… so we almost never cook) but since this is in the oven, I think it might be ok! thanks for sharing. pass on any other good recipes that you have…..

Leave a Reply

