First Postpartum Period

So, it looks like my cycles have started back up….I went 19 months without having a period! And I really took that for granted…I was so not ready for this part of my life to return…

My first post postpartum period has been horrendous. I haven’t been in any real pain like i was pre-pregnancy, so that has been a nice change of pace. Instead, I had the heaviest period that I ever had in my life. The bleeding that I had after delivering Henry was nothing compared to this. I ended up having to use a tampon AND a pad because I’d bleed through the tampon in under an hour. Seriously, my bathroom looked like a murder scene. I’ve never experienced anything like that, and I hope that the next go ’round is no where near as bad.

I had two days of spotting, two days of fearing that I was going to bleed out, and now things have returned to a normal pace. I’ve read that after giving birth you periods can be completely different than they were before. So, your usual number of days and flow could change completely. I have no idea how long this is going to last, or what to expect from it.

Now that my cycles have resumed, I think that I’m going to start charting my cycles again and use that as a form of BC, as I can’t be on any kind of hormonal BC because of breast feeding.

I had seriously forgotten how much of an inconvenience a period is….

Leave a Reply

