Infant-Toddler Program Assessment

Henry’s assessment was this morning.

Two women came and observed and played with him. They asked me a lot of questions about his behavior. They handed him different objects to see how he would manipulate them. The gave him a cup with small red blocks in them. They looked to see how he grabbed them, if he transferred from hand to hand and if he would band them together. They gave him a large ring, plastic keys and a rattle looking for similar information. They let him play with a small wind up toy and then took it and covered it with a blanket. They put him on his back to see what he’d do. They put him on his tummy, and stood him up. They looked at his back and feet, examined his legs and arms. The whole thing took about 45 minutes.

When they were done they gave me the results. Henry’s cognitive, emotional and reasoning skills are measuring at the 12 to 13 month mark. So, he’s ahead of the curve there.

Henry’s fine motor skills are measuring at the 8 month mark. And, his gross motor skills are measuring at the 6 month mark.

What this means is that Henry will start physical therapy to get him caught up to where he needs to be. Things will get moving fairly quickly. I should hear from a physical therapist in the next two weeks so that J and I can meet them and that we can all form a plan of action. After that, the PT will meet with Henry, most likely while he’s at daycare.

I’m really glad that I followed my gut and got him checked out. I’m happy that we’re going to be working towards getting Henry moving and resolving his issues as best we can. While I’m happy that things are going to be ok, there’s a small part of me that’s upset that all of this needed to happen. I’m trying really hard not to dwell on that, and to focus on the fact that everything is going to be fine and that after a few months of PT, Henry will be above and beyond where he needs to be.

From what I was told and understand, the main reason that Henry is behind in his motor skills is because he never learned to roll over from back to tummy. That twisting motion strengthens the core, and they use that same motion when going from sitting up to being on their tummy. So, because Henry couldn’t get into a crawling position without being placed there, he never had enough strength in his stomach muscles or arms or legs to actually crawl. So, the first thing on the list in PT would be to teach him to roll over.

I know that one day I might regret these words, but I’m looking forward to Henry being able to be mobile and having him be able to get anywhere he wants to go. Hopefully, in a few months, he’ll be able to do that.

3 thoughts on “Infant-Toddler Program Assessment

    • Thank you. I know that in the scheme of things this is only a small blip. I’m just having a hard time thinking about anything else.

      The job hunt is going. I actually have an interview this afternoon. It’s a second interview, so I’m really hopeful.

Leave a Reply

