The Job Hunt

Being in the job market again sucks. I went through this after I graduated college. I was officially done with school, and had my degree in August of 2009. I wasn’t able to find a job until February 2010. I went on about 15 interviews total. It was a really rough time in my life and I was so happy to finally be gainfully employed when it happened, and what’s more is that I loved my job. I was hired as a teacher assistant at an elementary school. I had so much fun with it. I assisted 3 4th grade teachers. The kids were great, and the teachers I worked with were awesome.

At the end of the 09/10 school year I was told that my position had been cut due to budget cuts, and as I was the last one in, I was also the first one out.

So, back to the job hunt I went. Luckily in August of that year I got a call that they’d found the money in the budget to hire me back, and I gladly accepted. I was paired up with a Kindergarten teacher, and she was near retirement age and a complete bitch. You know your kid has a bad teacher when it’s October, and they’re still crying in the morning when you drop them off at school (several children reacted this way everyday). I did my best to make these kids’ day better, and I was going to tough it out for the year and hope that the teacher would retire and I’d be placed with someone else.

Instead, my principal told me that the county had made a mistake when they said that they had the money to hire me back, and that at the end of the year I’d be out of a job again. My principal was awesome though, and was trying to get me into the EC (exceptional children) program, where I’d probably never be cut, but there was no guarantee that I’d be able to switch. At the same time, I was looking for another job and found one at the same HS that J taught at. I interviewed, and was offered the job that same day.

So, in the middle of the school year I switched schools and became a Testing Coordinator. Things were going well, until March when I was told that all Testing Coordinator positions in the county were being cut because of budget cuts, so in June, I would be out of a job….again.

That’s when I started working for my in-laws. I was hoping that I’d gain some stability and wouldn’t constantly have the fear that my position would just disappear because of budget cuts. And, that’s what I got, but that’s about all I gained out of it. I know that I’ll never be fired, but the job isn’t a good fit for me. My employers/ in-laws are passive aggressive, they feel like all employees are disposable and easily replaced (I file COBRA paperwork for a terminated employee at least twice a month). And, for the past 4 months I’ve been actively looking for another job.

I’ve been on 2 interviews so far, and I have another one next week. I even had a job offer, but I ended up having to turn it down because it had no benefits and would be a huge step down in pay from what I’m making now, to the point where we would be be able to pay some bills. I cried when I had to tell them no.

I’ve been applying to as many jobs as I can find. I’ve been reaching out to my contacts asking them if they’ll be a reference, or could put in a good word for me. I’m hopeful that something will happen soon, and I’m trying really hard to stay positive.

I want to be able to love my job again. If I have to be away from my family for 8+ hours a day, I need to love what I do to make that time worth it. I’m actually wanting to get back into the school systems. I like the hours, and while it can often be stressful, it evens out a bit with all the breaks that it has. Plus, my day would be over at 3:30 or 4 at the latest and I’d get to spend more time with Henry!

Hopefully something will come along soon that will be perfect for me. Again, I’m hopeful.

Leave a Reply

