Month 9

Dear Henry,
You’re now 9 months old!  I know I say this every month, but I’m seriously at a loss on how we got here so fast.  It just flew by.  Little boy, you are just growing way to fast!
20130327-145810.jpg
You’re developmental skills are flourishing!  This month you learned how to wave bye bye.  It’s seriously the cutest thing ever.  You hold your hand up, with your palm facing your face and wave bye bye to yourself.  It doesn’t matter who you wave to, your hand always faces you.  And you wave at everything!  You do it when you’re in your high chair eating, when you’re playing, and you’ve even started to do it while you nurse.
You also now give great high fives.  You slap your little hand on mine or your dads and you just smile.  It seriously is adorable, and it makes me laugh, and then makes you laugh, and we go back and forth like that for a while.
You’re now also clapping!  Your daycare teacher said that you actually started doing it a while back, but you stopped.  But, now you’re doing it all the time!  It makes playing patty cake with you much more fun since you’re beginning to make the gestures now, and you seriously love to play patty cake.
Two days ago you actually pulled yourself up!  I held my hands out for you, and you grabbed on and hefted yourself up to standing!  You seemed so proud of yourself, as you should be!  That took some major effort!  It makes me wonder if you’re going to be walking before you learn to crawl.
You’re still not crawling, but you can spin around on your tummy and push yourself backwards  I’m not really worried that you’re not actively mobile yet.  I’m enjoying the sitting on the floor with you and playing, and the not having to chase you all over the house (that will get here before I know it and probably way before I’m ready).
20130315-110630.jpg
You and I have been having a lot of opportunities to laugh.  It warms my heart every time that I see your smile and hear you laugh.  Which is good for me because you are on happy little dude.  One of the things that I love is that you now make these “mmmm” noises as you nurse, and I started making them when you do, which causes you to look up at me and you’ll make that “mmmm” sound again.  And I’ll repeat it.  And you smile with a mouth full of boob.  We go back and forth like that until you’re actually laughing.  You’re so much fun!
20130327-145711.jpg
You had your 9 month check up at the doctor’s yesterday.  They said that you’re small, but healthy.  You weighed in at 18.4 lbs and were 26.5 inches long.  You’re in the 15th percentile for weight, and the 4th percentile for height.  Your head though, measured in the 40th percentile.  The doctor also said that you might be getting a little chunky.  I honestly don’t think you’re that rolly polly for a baby.  You’ve got some pudge, but nothing excessive, and all babies have pudge on them.  Your rolls do not have rolls.  You’ll also trim down when you start crawling and walking, so I’m really not concerned.
20130327-145850.jpg
Eating and nursing have been going great.  I will admit that I tear up when I think about the fact that we’re going to scale way back when you’re a year old.  I love nursing you.  It is the best thing ever.  You relax so much while nursing and it’s the best cuddle time.  I love nursing you at night and watch as at first you’re playing while you eat, and then you get more tired and your eye lids start to droop and eventually you just fall completely asleep.  You never do let go at night.  I always have to unlatch you.  If it were up to you, you’d sleep all night attached to me.  Once you hit the year mark, I’m going to start cutting way back on the pumping, and I’ll slowly start to give you less and less milk during the day at daycare, which is where my freezer stash will come into play.  I plan on continuing to nurse you every morning and evening for as long as you want.  I’m really hoping that it’s not for a while yet.  I’m loathe to give up that one on one time with you.
20130327-145834.jpg

You’re becoming so interactive.  You can say “Mama” and “Dada,” although your dad and I aren’t sure if you’re actually calling us that, or if you’re just saying it to say it.  But, a couple weeks ago when I picked you up from daycare, you looked at me, smiled and said “Mama.”  Talk about pulling on my heart strings!  We took you on a play date this past weekend with one of your daycare mates.  It was so much fun to watch you play with another baby.  Although, little man, you’ve got to learn to share.  Your friend would pick up a toy, and you’d see her do it, and then you’d grab it right out of her hands.  So, she’d pick up another one, and you’d then grab that one too.  It seems like you always want what you don’t have.

20130327-145704.jpg
You’re also developing a temper.  A little while back, you got a hold of a small plastic baggie, and I took it away from you, since it’s not a proper toy, and you got mad!  You started doing your mad cry, and then threw yourself down on the ground to cry harder, throwing your arms and flailing your legs as you cried.  You also took a small break to looked up long enough to see if I was watching, and then went right back to screaming.  It was really hard not to laugh at you.
20130327-145823.jpg
I have so much fun with you.  I really really do.  You’re awesome.  Your dad and I comment on your awesomeness at least twice daily.  I love you so much.  I’m just filled with so so much love for you.  It’s hard to explain fully just how much you’ve impacted my life.  I’m incredibly happy and thrilled that you’re a part of my life.  I love you with all of my being.
– Mom
7 thoughts on “Month 9

  1. I love reading these letters of yours, thanks for posting them, Question, my son is eight months now – a little less actually, 8 months on April 4th. and we are thinking about starting finger foods, my son is such a hungry guy, now I know you did baby led weaning or whatever its called, but what is he eating in that picture? Im also wondering what I should start with, for jo. Not going to lie, when I read about infants chocking online I kind of scared myself. But youve been giving Henry a lot of freedom with food it seems. Help! I need advice. No idea where to start here. Any thoughts?

    • I’d start with anything soft. Avocados are a huge favorite of Henry’s. Roasted sweet potatoes are another good choice.
      Honestly, whatever you’re eating for dinner, just cook the hell out of it until its soft enough to mush between two fingers.
      Don’t worry about chocking. Henry has never come anywhere close to choking. He will make gagging noises, but that’s just him figuring out how to move food around in his mouth. Baby’s gag reflexes are so much farther forward than ours, so he’s not in danger at all if he makes a gagging sound. Just watch him closely. You will know if he’s in danger.
      Avocados, any roasted veggies, bananas, mangoes are all good ideas for first foods.
      In the picture here, Henry is eating a grilled cheese sandwich (another favorite of his) and avocado slices.

      Does that help? Also, Baby led weaning has a website. Babyledweaning.com. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

