Month 8

8 Months! You are 8 months old already! I honestly don’t know how that happened. It really does feel like just last week you were 6 weeks old. I’m honestly astounded at the thought of 8 months. It’s such a short amount of time, and during that time you really have had a monumental impact on my and your dad’s life. There’s not a day that goes by where I’m not thankful for you. I tell your dad almost every night that I love you so so much (I tell you all the time too). You’re getting bigger and bigger and each day you’re less and less my little baby. But, no matter how big you get, you’ll always be my baby.

20130225-164652.jpg

You and me hanging out before bedtime

I think that you’ve had a gazillion colds this month. It really does seem like as soon as you get better, you have another one. You stayed out of daycare on Thursday and Friday because you had a fever. You came to work with me those days, although, admittedly, I should have just stayed home with you. I wasn’t able to get much work done because you were just so miserable. You wanted to be held and cuddled, and I was more than happy to indulge you.

20130225-164738.jpg

You were sick with a fever in this picture

You are gearing up to crawl. While at work with me on Friday, you were on the floor playing with your toys and I saw you lunge after a toy that was just out of reach. But, instead of landing on your hands and knees, you face planted and then started crying. You can push yourself backwards and twist and turn yourself around on the floor, but there hasn’t been any actual crawling yet. But, it’s going to be soon. I can’t seem to decide if I’m ready for you to crawl. Not only am I not logistically ready (I feel like I’ll need to sweep and mop the floors on a regular basis when you’re crawling so that you don’t turn into a dust bunny), but I’m not emotionally ready. I really do think that crawling marks the end of babyhood, and I am trying to hang on with all of my might to you still being a baby that needs his mommy for everything. I need to loosen my apron strings, but I am thankful that I wont’ have to cut them for quite some time.

20130225-164835.jpg

You’re teething something fierce right now. You’ve been a drool monster the past few days. You get everything you touch wet and slimy. I think the cold that you had this past week was due to teething, or at least in part. I keep checking your gums for a new tooth, but I haven’t felt anything yet.

20130225-164951.jpg

You’re getting better and better at feeding yourself. Less and less is ending up in your lap and you’re swallowing more and more. One thing you have learned though is to share with your furry brothers and sisters. The cats, specifically Beemer, will come and steal things off of your tray when we aren’t looking. You’ve also started to drop things to Ali. And, a few times I actually caught you sharing with Ali. Where you’ll hold food in your hand, and reach down to let Ali lick it, and then bring it back up to you so you can finish eating it. While that’s not something I would do, you don’t seem to mind. And, you get really mad when I take food away from you when you’re not finished. I did that with a sprig of asparagus the other day that you were having trouble with, and oh boy did you get mad at me.

20130225-165342.jpg

See all of the tomatoes left on the tray?

We’re still doing the baby led weaning and you love it. You’re really liking apples and pears, and it’s amazing to me that with only two teeth the amount that you can consume. Things you don’t like: peas and tomatoes. That’s it. You’ll eat tomato sauce, but not an actual chunk of tomato. One thing that does amaze us is that you LOVE vegetables. You’re a fan of asparagus, zucchini, squash, carrots, bell peppers, corn, potatoes, onion, green beans – you name it, you’ll eat it.

You and I are still doing great with nursing. You’ll have 3 to 4 bottles at daycare, but we still nurse every morning and evening, and then the whole time on the weekend as well. Ever since you’ve started daycare, you’ve been taking longer and longer on your evening nursing sessions. You’ve started to go from anywhere from 45 minutes to over an hour. Thursday night when you were sick, you nursed for an hour and twenty minutes. Not all of that is actively nursing, a lot of it is just for comfort. You need your snuggle time with me, and I have to admit that I need that extra snuggle time with you. I love nursing you. I can’t express how happy I am that you and I were/are able to do it.

20130225-165842.jpg

 

You’re such a sweet baby. You’re just so HAPPY, all of the time. You love to cuddle and snuggle. One surefire way to make you smile is to put you on my shoulders and dance around the house with you. You love it! And I dance my way to every mirror in the house so that I can see your face light up. You still love air plane, and to play “where’s Henry?” – our version of peeka boo. You’re learning to clap, and we’re working on giving high fives and fist bumps. You’re so lovable and so much fun. I love you so so much!

– Mom

20130225-170053.jpg

I have to say that you finally outgrew this onesie. You wore this your first day in the hospital, and all the way up to you being 6 months old. I put it on you the other day (this picture), and while you’re still adorable in it, it’s a lil bit snug now.

Leave a Reply

