Finding A Play Group

So, J is going to be out of the house for the next month or so of Saturdays, and I’ve been looking for activities that Henry and I can do together. Specifically with other moms and babies. And, I have to say that it’s not going so well.

Most of the Mom/Baby groups that I’ve found all meet in the middle of the week at times where I’m at work and have absolutely no hope of attending. You know, times like 10:30 on a Tuesday. It seems to me that in order to join a Mommy/Baby group you must be a stay-at-home-mom.

I did find one Saturday activity with a kindermusik group, but it costs $260 plus a $70 registration fee for 6 months worth or classes, and for something that’s supposed to be fun and easy to do on the weekend (especially where you know you won’t be able to go every weekend) that seems like a lot of money.

I’ve “applied” to a few groups on Meet Up, but my application is still pending….It almost feels like I’m rushing a sorority. I’ve looked for Gymboree classes, but according to their website the closest one is an hour away…I’m kinda lost on where to go next to find other moms who want to hang out on the weekend with their babies.

Why is it so hard to meet other moms who have babies around the same age as mine and hang out and let the babies play?

4 thoughts on “Finding A Play Group

  1. my fears exactly. I think some of the libraries in my city have like Saturday children’s times, reading etc, and maybe even an infant one? Check your local libraries to see if they have anything like that. You could at least potentially meet other people there then schedule future play dates.

Leave a Reply

