Is This Discrimination?

My father-in-law/boss came to talk to me today at work. He started off by telling me that business is struggling right now, that they’re keeping their head above water, but barely, and that they need everyone to pull their weight. None of that was news to me.
He feels that since they’re paying me for 40 hours a week (I’m salary), but that I’m only working 30 (his estimation) and he wants me to start making up the difference on the weekend.
He wants me to start coming in on Saturdays to make up for the hour a day (actual time) that I pump at work.

Is this discrimination? Because, I really feel like it is….

I do my job. I get everything done in the day that I’m supposed to, and then some. But, now they want me to make up for the fact that I’m pumping 3 times a day (although one of them is on my lunch break – so I feel like I don’t need to make that up – honestly I don’t feel like I need to make up any of it).

I don’t want to work on the weekend. It’s the only time that I get to see Henry for any real amount of time. I’m pissed off and hurt and really don’t know what to do. I’m still looking for another job, but haven’t found anything yet. Suggestions on how to handle this are welcomed.

3 thoughts on “Is This Discrimination?

  1. I don’t feel it’s fair. Check to see if there is any kind of documentation that would cover HIM if you were to fight it. If not, you could probably say something. Although, he is your boss, so tread carefully. Hope that helps.

  2. That is ridiculous! I’m sure there is a law against this, it is your right to pump at work. Sorry I don’t have more information, but I would not let this go. Have you tried posting on other public sites like babycenter.com or other mothering pages or sites?

  3. Yes. I’d check this out. There has got to be literature out there on this issue… I’m sure you have right to pump at work on the clock? I feel like I’ve read something on this. I’m so sorry you had to HAVE that conversation. I may have no money but gosh, I’m glad I’m a stay at home mom for now because I would not hear that and react well…

Leave a Reply

