Month 7

Dear Henry,
Today you are 7 months old!  As I was nursing you last night, I was just marveling at the fact on how much you’ve grown.  It kinda snuck up on me how big you’ve become.  You used to look so teeny on the nursing pillow and now you hang off of it.  You also used to look so itty bitty in your dad’s arms and I noticed last night, as your dad was bouncing you in his arms at 1:00 am trying to get you to go back to sleep, that you don’t look nearly as teeny (when your head rests on his shoulder, your legs now dangle nearly to his waist).  You’re growing so much, which reminds me of something that your grandpa (my dad) used to say, “I’m going to have to put a brick on your head to keep you from growing.”
You’re eating solids so well now.  You’re actually eating with purpose and not just sliding food around on your tray (although you still do that too).  You basically eat whatever your dad and I are having for dinner, and you really seem to be liking it.  You love avocados, and my homemade wheat bread (which is sweet because it didn’t come out all that great – it was my first attempt at bread making).  It’s hard to say what your favorite food is because you just dive into anything that we put in front of you.  The one thing that you don’t like: peas.  You’ll eat them just fine, but they cause some major gas problems that cause you to wake up screaming in the middle of the night.  So, don’t worry, we’ll hold off on giving you those for a while.
mmmm chicken!

mmmm baked Ziti!

You haven’t been sleeping so well lately.  And, I’m pretty sure that the solid food is to blame for part of it.  Three times last week you woke up screaming because your tummy hurt.  You’d look at me with tears streaming down you face, and I knew that you wanted me to make it stop hurting, and I wish that I could.  Your dad and I held you and rocked you and bounced you until you calmed down and then I’d nurse you until you’d fall asleep.
Well, those middle of the night cuddle and feeding sessions soon became an issue.  You started waking up in the middle of the night wanting to nurse and cuddle and as sweet as that is, and as much as I’d like to indulge in that, waking me up 3+ times a night, does not equal a very cuddly mama.  So, last night when you woke up at 12:15 wanting to nurse your dad and I were there to hold you until you calmed down and then put you back in your crib.  Which caused you to cry again and for us to hold you until you calmed down – and we repeated that process for an hour!  Finally at 1:20, your dad and I were exhausted (and so were you) and we left you to put yourself to sleep on your own.  It took 20 minutes, but you finally went to sleep, and slept straight through until it was time to get up this morning at 6:30 (we had to wake you up, you were still exhausted).  As hard as it is to hear you cry, you seem to get to point after a while and then you sleep so much better.  So, hopefully you’ll be sleeping through the night again tonight.
You’re still nursing like a champ.  I think that you enjoy our nursing sessions as much as I do.  You just snuggle in and eat your fill, and most nights you’ll nurse yourself to sleep, which I still think is one of the sweetest things in the world.  I love those cuddle times with you, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  As hard as breastfeeding was in the beginning, I really love that I’ve stuck with it, and I’m really proud to say that you’re a 100% breastfed baby.
20130123-111412.jpg
20130123-111424.jpg
You’re not crawling yet, you’re still pretty stationary, which is probably a good thing since your dad and I still haven’t baby proofed the house….I guess we need to get on that one.  You like playing with your ring stacker (although, Ali took it and a couple of your other toys and chewed them pretty badly…but you still seem to not mind that so much, especially since you just chew on them too.
20130123-111515.jpg
Playing at daycare

Playing at daycare

trying to fit the ring into your mouth

 Speaking of chewing, you now have 2 teeth!  Both of them popped up this month, and they’re in the front on the bottom.  You refuse to let anyone see them.  Anytime that I can get your mouth open, you push your tongue out to cover them up.  We’ve only seen glimpses of them, but you can definitely feel them and man are they sharp! I only know this from feeling them, thankfully (and knock on wood) you haven’t bitten me yet.
You’ve become one cuddly little boy.  You give the greatest hugs and kisses.  You wrap your little arms around our necks and just hang on for dear life when you hug.  It melts my heart every time.  Your kisses are still a wide open mouth on the cheek, but it’s so sweet that we don’t mind the slobber at all.  I hope that you’ll always want to hug and kiss us like that.
20130123-111632.jpg
You’re also one chatty little boy.  You love “talking” lately.  You just babble away and it’s the cutest thing.  And or course your dad and I talk back to you, which just makes you light up and babble all the more.  You actually get upset now when you talk to us and we don’t say anything back.  Your dad had to keep a conversation going with you last night as he cooked dinner because you got upset that he wasn’t paying enough attention to you, it was really cute to listen to.
20130123-111601.jpg
You are one sweet baby boy.  I love being able to watch you become a little boy, and while it breaks my heat a little to watch you grow up so fast, it’s so much fun to watch you be able to do more and more.  I love you so much.  You’re so special and incredible, and I couldn’t ask for a better son.
20130123-111540.jpg
I love you Henry,
Mom
too busy blowing raspberries to pose for a picture

too busy blowing raspberries to pose for a picture

Leave a Reply

