Month 6

Dear Henry,
You’re sixth months old today (or you were when I started writing this – again, I’m sorry that it’s over a week late…)!!!! How has half a year gone by already? This month so much has changed I don’t even know where to begin.
I guess we’ll start with the obvious.  You had your first Hanukkah and Christmas this year!  It was so much fun watching you open your gifts and laughing hysterically when you had more fun with the wrapping paper than what it was wrapped around.  You got so much stuff this year that your dad and I are going to have to get you a toy chest so that itdoesn’t look like Toys ‘R Us exploded in our house.
Your first night of Hanukkah!

Your first night of Hanukkah!

This month you started sitting up on your own. This actually just happened within the last week. You can sit and play with toys now on your own. It’s the coolest thing to watch. But, as cool as it is, it also makes me a little sad. It means your growing and becoming more and more independent everyday, and less and less the little baby that needs me for everything.
20121230-200854.jpg
You’ve really started getting into playing with your toys (although you still really like to put everything in your mouth). I think that your favorite thing is your Disney jumperoo. You bounce and play and swing and toddle in for the longest time. Your dad and I can put you in there and you can entertain yourself for almost an hour. But, you also really like any toy that you can sit up and play with.
20121230-202306.jpg
In just the past few days you’ve also started solid foods. Your dad and I have decided to skip purees and anything that involves us spoon feeding you. So far you’ve tried orange slices, banana, avocado and roasted sweet potatoes, bread and this morning you dad made a hash out of eggs, onion and potatoes and you absolutely loved it! The orange and banana caused you to wrinkle your nose and spit out what was in your mouth, but you actually ate the sweet potato, and seemed to really like it. As of right now you’re undecided on the avocado, so we’ll revisit that soon. The first few days of solids you had some tummy trouble that we think is being caused by the solids, but we’ll see if that continues, hopefully it won’t happen again.
20121230-202411.jpg
You started daycare this month, and while it was incredibly difficult for me (and still is at times) you seem to be thriving in it. You smile as soon as we walk in the door in the morning and as soon as I hand you over to Ms. Judy in the mornings I cease to exist. And, everyday but one so far, you’ve been smiling and happy when I picked you up (and the day you were crying was because you refused to nap and were exhausted and wired). I hate that I’m missing so much time with you, but I honestly think it’s worth it to see you so happy and to know that you’re being entertained and enriched all day.
Took your picture when I picked you up from Daycare last week

Took your picture when I picked you up from Daycare last week

This month also marked your first major road trip. We packed you up in your car seat the night of the 21st after your bedtime routine and drove through the night to Kentucky to see your Gram. You slept the whole way like a champ! Your dad and I weren’t so lucky. We hit major snow in West Virginia, and the roads got so bad that we were going 30 mph or less through most of I-77. But, we arrived at Gram’s at 3:30 that morning and after lugging all of your stuff inside were able to put you back to sleep (although it was in bed with us – you seemed to forget all of the sleep training that we did when we were in KY, but thankfully you’ve remembered it as soon as we got home). When you woke up at 6:30 that morning I nursed you and bleary eyed handed you over to Gram to entertain you while I went back to sleep. Our drive home was thankfully uneventful – again you slept the whole way!
I-77 - and this was not the worst of the snowy weather - I couldn't unclench my hands long enough to take a picture then.

I-77 – and this was not the worst of the snowy weather – I couldn’t unclench my hands long enough to take a picture then.

Nap time continues to be a struggle for you, but you’re getting better. Today you took every nap in your crib and they were all decent lengths! I know that your dad is really sad that you’re not napping on his chest anymore, but it’s for the best. Once you started napping on his chest you decided that you wanted all of your naps that way, and for some reason my chest isn’t as comfy to you as his is, and he can’t be there at every nap to snuggle you no matter how much he’d like to be (and he would really like to be).
You’re growing up so much! It seems like every time I look at your you’re getting bigger and bigger. You’re also extremely inquisitive. You study things when you look at them. I honestly think that you’re trying to figure how they work and how best you can manipulate it. You still make us work to get a laugh out of you, but you smile almost nonstop. Your smile and the fact that you love to cuddle and snuggle are some of my favorite things about you – but everything is my favorite thing about you. I’m so thankful that I’m your mom. You mean the world to me and you always will. I love you with all of my heart and I always will.
Watching Top Chef with Dad while I catch up on some much needed sleep

Watching Top Chef with Dad while I catch up on some much needed sleep

Your last day at work with me.

Your last day at work with me.

-Mom
Leave a Reply

