Upping the Pumping

Looks like my pumping drama continues. Henry is now going through his six month growth spurt. I never noticed his 3 month growth spurt, probably because I was breastfeeding on demand. But since he’s been in daycare, they tell me everyday how much he eats, plus all those empty bottles that I have to wash are proof of how much he eats.

Last week at daycare I left 4 (5 oz) bottles for him to eat everyday. My thinking was, that if he eats every 3 hours or so that he’ll only need 3 bottles, and I’d bring one more just in case. On Friday, he ate his “just in case” bottle and he did it again Monday, and was about to be fed it when I got there yesterday. Which means that everything that I pump, he now eats. Ideally I’d like to have a cushion, and I’d even more like to continue to grow my freezer stash.

It worries me that I might not pump enough for him to eat, so to try and rectify that, I’m upping my pumping routine for the remainder of this week to try and catch up to Henry’s demand.

Last week I pumped after Henry ate at 6:00 am. And, then at work at 9:00, 12:00 and 3:00. I averaged about 4 ounces per session, which isn’t too shabby. Since I need to up that here’s what my pumping schedule looks like now:

  • 5:50 – pump 5 minutes on each boob
  • 6:00 – breastfeed Henry
  • 6:20-6:40 – pump ten minutes on each boob. This let me have a total of 4.5 ounces this morning, I could have kept going, ’cause I wasn’t empty yet, but I ran out of time.
  • 8:30 – pump until empty (30 minutes today and got 6.75 ounces).
  • 11:00 – pump until empty (25 minutes today and got 5 ounces).
  • 1:30 – pump until empty (20 minutes – 3.5 ounces)
  • 4:00 – pump until empty (25 minutes – 3.5 ounces)
  • 6:30 – breastfeed Henry

Hopefully this will help bump up my supply and give me a little breathing room, and more milk in my freezer.

20121219-083037.jpg

Leave a Reply

