Pumping Woes

I’m in a bit of a shitty situation. Let me give you some back story first.

When I brought Henry to work with me, I used to nurse him in my office, which I share with my mother-in-law. But, when he started to get really distracted easily, I went and took him down to an empty office to nurse him. It was quiet, and I could turn the lights off and it really helped with getting him to eat.

When Henry went into daycare, I used the same empty office to pump all last week. So today at 9:00, with my pump, ipad and water in hand I walked down to the empty office, and low and behold, there was a person in there using the space as their office! And NO ONE TOLD ME!

Now here’s where the shitty part comes into play. I share an office, so while I felt completely comfortable nursing Henry in there, I don’t feel comfortable pumping in front of others. There’s just something different about it. Especially when the person you share an office with goes in and out all the time, and I sit right next to the door. I just feel exposed, and because I’m uncomfortable, I don’t produce much milk.

So, when I complained to my brother-in-law about the situation, he told me that I had a few options. 1) I can get over it and pump in my office. 2) I can use the storage room. or 3) I can drive 5 minutes down the road to their other company and pump in their filing/storage room.

I have to say that I’m hurt and ticked off by how I’m being treated with the whole pumping situation. Granted, I’m the only one in the office to ever put them in a position like this, and they aren’t likely to be in this position again for quite some time, if ever. But, still! A little compassion would be nice.

So, out of my options, I chose option 3. So, now I drive over to their other company 3 times a day to pump (the people over there let me use their conference room, so guess that’s the upside).

sigh….I really need to find another job and soon.

2 thoughts on “Pumping Woes

  1. I hear ya girl. I’d probably just pump in my car…we had tented window in the back seat and I would use my cover and clean up with the Medela pump wipes. So sorry….people who didn’t nurse don’t think about these things….

    • Yeah, I definitely don’t have tinted windows in my car, so that’s not an option. Driving over to the other building isn’t so bad. It beats putting a metal folding chair and pumping in the storage room here…..

Leave a Reply

