Making it Work

So, I asked my bosses/ in-laws if I could change my work hours to be from 7:30 to 4:30 instead of 8:00 to 5:00, so I could be with Henry a little more in the evenings before he has to go to bed.  They agreed, which is awesome!  And, today I actually got to work on time!  The downside is that I forgot to bring with me half the things I need for the day, because I ran around like a chicken with its head cut off this morning trying to get out the door by 6:50.

  • I remembered to bring my bagel for breakfast, but I forgot the bring the peanut butter that goes on it.  I’m now still hungry and my dog is looking at me like I betrayed her because there is no knife to lick today.
  • I remembered to bring my pump and two bottles to pump into, but I forgot the third bottle, which means that I get to pump into a bottle and then pour the milk into my thoroughly scrubbed travel coffee mug to hold it all day.
  • I remembered to bring my purse, but forgot to put my cell phone and ipad in it.
 I tried to get everything packed yesterday so that I could just grab everything and hit the road this morning.  It looks like this is going to take a little while longer to figure out.  I think I might have to start making a check list of things to do the night before and in the morning so that nothing is forgotten in the future.
On the upside, when Henry was dropped off this morning, he smiled as soon as we walked into his classroom.  I think he’s really enjoying daycare.  It was also really awesome to come home yesterday to J and Henry and see Henry’s face light up when he saw me.
Smiling baby being picked up at daycare!

Smiling baby being picked up at daycare!

Leave a Reply

