Cough Cough

Taking care of a baby while sick, is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

From about Monday, I’ve had a dry cough.  Since I have allergies, I just assumed it was fall allergies.  I was wrong.  On Wednesday my cough turned wet, and I had a low grade fever.  Because I was in denial, I went to work on Wednesday and I just felt worse and worse as the day went on.  Since J had a gig Wednesday evening, I put Henry to bed, and once he was down I quickly ate dinner and went to bed myself.  I was out by 8:30.

I woke up Thursday and felt like I had been run over by a train.  Needless to say that I decided to stay home from work.  But I realized that there was no way that I could take care of a baby and stay home, so J had to stay home too so I could rest/sleep/be a sick zombie and he could watch Henry and keep him occupied.

It worked pretty well, although I didn’t take into account that I’d need to be up and functioning every 2-3 hours so  that I could feed Henry.  And because I had a fever and I didn’t want to get Henry or J sick, I tried to pump for most of the feedings starting Thursday night – when I started to feel my worst.  So, that cut into my rest because that took about 40 minutes at a time (I have a hard time pumping).  On top of all of that, it’s hard to get enough sleep when you keep looking at the clock and thinking that your time is quickly running out before you have to get up again.

On Friday, Henry decided that he didn’t want to eat from me.  He’d take a bottle just fine, but cried whenever I brought him to the breast.  This freaked me out, because I was afraid that he was starting another nursing strike, or that this meant that he was getting sick.  This is a bit embarrassing, but it turns out that he didn’t like the way I smelled.  I don’t know about you, but when I’m really sick – and I mean really sick, it doesn’t cross my mind to shower.  All I do is drink fluids and sleep.  So, all of Thursday I didn’t shower (and hadn’t had one since Wednesday morning), so come Friday afternoon, Henry apparently couldn’t take the stink.  So, all you sick breastfeeding moms out there, make sure you shower otherwise your baby might not like cuddling up against you.

I do have to say that J was amazing.  He did so great taking care of me and Henry.  I could not have done all of that on my own.  If it wasn’t for him, I’d still be really sick huddled under the covers and probably curled into a ball crying.

I’m still sick – this stupid cough, running nose and fever just won’t go away, but I’m a whole lot better than I was, and hopefully I’ll be 100% soon.

And now here’s your cute picture:

One thought on “Cough Cough

Leave a Reply

