I Wish I Had A Picture

I wish I had a picture of J with Henry tonight.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays J has marching band rehearsal after school.  It ends at 6:30 and the kids are supposed to be picked up directly afterward – once all the instruments and equipment have been put away.  However, there’s been one kid all season that’s been repeatedly picked up late.  Tonight he was picked up at 7:30 – an hour after practice ended.  Henry’s bedtime is also at 7:30.  Which means that J didn’t get to say goodnight to Henry.

I was in the process of putting Henry down for the night when J called me to tell me he was finally on his way home.  I decided to keep rocking Henry and postpone laying him down in his crib when J said that he was so upset that he missed Henry’s bedtime again.  So, for 15 more minutes I rocked Henry in my arms (I’m not complaining), and as soon as J stepped into the nursery I handed the baby over so he could rock him and get a few cuddles in with a sleeping baby.

It’s at this point that I wish I had a camera that could take beautiful pictures in a darkened room without a flash that would wake a sleeping baby.  The way that J was holding Henry and looking at him brought tears to my eyes.  Love was emanating from him so strongly that it was palpable.

I know that J is worried that he’s a bad Dad because he misses so many bedtimes and is working a lot of the time, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth.  You can’t be a bad parent when you hold so much love in your heart.  And, even though Henry is only 4 months old, I know that he knows that his Dad loves him.  And I love him too.

…I wish I had a picture…

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Had A Picture

  1. The ones who need to check their parental abilities are the ones picking their kid up so late from rehearsal every night. That kind of stuff burns me up. It’s not enough our husbands give so much of their time, some people take more and more and more. J is absolutely not a bad dad. You can tell Henry is a loved and secure baby!!

Leave a Reply

