Month 2

Dear Henry –

You’re two months old today!!  It’s hard to believe how much you’ve grown since you were born, but you just keep getting bigger and bigger.  As my dad use to say “I’m going to have to put a brick on your head  to keep you from growing.”  Not only are you growing, but you’re also working on your developmental skills.  Your head control is getting better every day.  I have to say that it is cute to see when your head does get too heavy for you, and all of a sudden it just kind of flops to one side.  I probably shouldn’t laugh when that happens, but I can’t help it.  Your tummy time skills are also improving.  You can definitely pick your head up at a 90 degree angle when you want to, otherwise it just kinda sits at a 45.  Your grip is still super strong, and as a result of that, I had about 4 inches cut off of my hair so it can no longer be used as a torture device against me.  Your grip on your dad’s chest hair still remains and still makes him squeal and makes me laugh. = )

This month your dad and I introduced you to a pacifier.  I have to say that I’m not thrilled with the idea of it, but I can’t dispute that when you’re crying uncontrolably and nothing else will help, it does.  So, for now I’ll use it because it seems to work miracles.

You’re getting better and better at breastfeeding.  Other than getting you to latch as a newborn we never really had any issues with this, but for about the first 6 weeks of life, you liked to take your time to eat and would nurse for over an hour.  Which at times isn’t necessarily a bad thing, except when I’m trying to work and nursing you, playing with you and then struggling to put you down for a nap (which you fight with every fiber of your being) can take over 3 hours.  But within the last two weeks you’ve become a much more efficient eater – which is awesome!!!  Now it only takes about 30 minutes for you to eat during the day, and your once a night meal really only takes about 15 minutes and then we both pass out again.

I have to say that I’m afraid to write this, because I’m afraid that once I post it, that my word will come back to bite me, but I’m going for it anyway.  You sleep through the night really well.  We usually go lay down at around 10:00 and I’ll feed you again between 10:30 and 11:00.  And then we all go to bed (you’re still cosleeping at the moment (that’s for another post)).  After that, you’ll usually sleep for about 6 hours, sometimes more.  Last night you ate at 11:00, and then promptly passed out in bed with us and slept straight through until 6:00 this morning where you ate again, and then you and I went back to bed until 9:30.  So, on the sleeping front – you’re an awesome little boy, KEEP IT UP!!!!

At the two month mark you love:

  • Cuddling
  • Looking out at the world
  • Diaper changes
  • Baths and showers
  • Mommy singing lullabies to you (“Baby Mine,” and “Summertime” seem to be your favorites)
  • Eating
  • Hearing your voice
  • Having people smile/ make faces at you
  • Boxing with dad (video to come at a later date)
  • When your dad does drum talk at your (video to come at a later date)

And you hate:

  • Being cold
  • Being hot
  • Being hungry
  • Being naked
  • Having a dirty or wet diaper
  • Being tired
  • Nap time

None of the “hates” are really shocking anymore, you seem to be pretty easy going, until one of the above happens and then you lose your shit, but I can’t really blame you for that and I do try my best to make sure that you’re kept as comfortable as possible.

Anyway, it’s getting late and your mom’s guilty pleasure (Real Housewives of New Jersey) is on and I need to get some cuddle time with you and your dad before you both pass out.

I love you so much!  Keep growing, just try not to do it so fast!

– Mom

Cuddling time with Mom

Leave a Reply

