The Longest Day?

J, Henry and I had a busy day yesterday, and it quickly turned into one of the worst days we’ve had so far.

Our morning and early afternoon went by without a hiccough.  I had an appointment at 2:00 to get the car seat inspected in my car (J’s car had been inspected about a month before this).  J also had a music rehearsal at his school that he needed to be at, so we had our friend Annalisa come over and watch Henry while I was out (I was only away for 20 minutes). This is a time line of what our day was like yesterday, and I hope it’s a day we don’t repeat anytime soon.

  • 12:00 J leaves for music rehearsal at his school
  • 12:00 – 1:00 I fed Henry
  • 1:45 I left the house to go to get my car seat inspected
  • 2:00 car seat inspection
  • 2:15 arrived at home
  • 2:30 – 3:00 I fed Henry
  • 3:00 Henry and I passed out on the sofa
  • 3:45 J arrives home
  • 4:15 We all leave and head to Greensboro so I can  get some things done at work and J can show off Henry to friends
  • 5:00 Arrive at work, and I fed Henry
  • 5:45 J and Henry head out and I start working
  • 7:15 J and Henry come back
  • 7:45 I’m done with work and I feed Henry
  • 8:00 I cut our nursing session short so my father-in-law can lock up and head home
  • 8:15 arrive at our favorite sushi restaurant for dinner, but Henry’s crying for more food, so we sit in the car and I nurse Henry until he’s full
  • 8:45 Henry’s done eating, and we walk into the restaurant, but we’re told that they’re already cleaning up the kitchen and can’t seat us, even though they don’t technically close for another 15 minutes….grrr
  • 8:45 We get back in the car and drive to another restaurant downtown (at this point J and I hadn’t eaten since lunch…)
  • 9:20 After driving around trying to find parking Henry starts to wake up so we give up and decided to just go home
  • 9:22 Henry starts crying
  • 9:23 I start tearing up because Henry’s crying and I can’t pick him up and cuddle him because we’re in the car driving home
  • 9:24 J is in the passenger seat, reaching back to let Henry suck on his finger to keep him quiet (and spends the next 30 minutes like that)
  • 10:00 arrive home with a screaming baby
  • 10:01 I feed Henry and he’s attached to my boob for the next hour, and I scarf down my dinner while nursing him
  • 11:00 start our bedtime routine of changing his diaper, slathering Henry in lotion and swaddling him up tightly
  • 11:15 – 1:30 Console a screaming/crying over tired baby who refuses to be in his bassinet for longer than 15 seconds
  • 1:30 we all pass out and Henry spends the night in our bed and blessedly sleeps until 6:45

I definitely don’t want to make a habit of cosleeping, but if it’s the only way to console my baby so that we can all get some sleep and rest, I’ll do it for the greater good.

Yesterday had J and I were at our wits end for quite a while.  It’s complete torture to be in a car with a crying baby and not be able to comfort him – I don’t think I’ll ever get used to that.  As bad as the car ride home was, the crying fit that Henry had from 11:00 – 1:30 was much worse.  It seemed no matter what we did we just couldn’t get this kid settled down.  I’d let him nurse and he’d almost fall asleep, but then he’d fill his diaper and cry, and then we’d change him, which would make him cry harder (it’s ironic that he hates having a dirty diaper, but also hates having his diaper changed), and then we’d have to repeat that whole process.  I supposed the lesson learned here is to not let Henry get over tired.  We didn’t realize this until we were trying to go to bed, but Henry was awake from 8:30 pm to 1:30 am without a wink of sleep.

So far Henry’s naps today have been great, he’s currently in his swing asleep and as cute as can be.  I don’t think I can express enough how much I love this little boy.

Leave a Reply

