Been too Long…

I’m so sorry that I’ve been a horrible blogger lately.  I think the biggest reason that I’ve taken a break from it is that my maternity leave and quiet alone time with my family of 3 is almost over, and I’ve been wanting to enjoy every moment of it (and I assure you that I have).  I go back to work on Monday – but at least I’ll get to work from home.  It will definitely take me some time to figure out how to work and take care of an infant at the same time, but Henry and I will figure it out.

I’ve come to realize that caring for a baby is incredibly difficult, but also incredibly rewarding.  Sleep is our biggest obstacle right now.  Some nights Henry will sleep with only waking up once – which is awesome.  And other nights he’ll wake up 4 times or more.  The thing that’s the hardest with sleep is that Henry is a slow nurser.  It takes him about 30-45 minutes to eat – around 15-20 minutes per boob.  Add in a diaper change when he wakes up at night, plus another diaper change when we switch boobs, and that means that I’m up for over an hour every time this kid wakes up.  This also doesn’t take into account all the times when Henry refuses to go to sleep after a feeding in the middle of the night and J and I have to walk around the house to lull him back to sleep.  Eventually I’ll figure out what I’m doing right/wrong when it comes to his sleep, but as he’s way too young to do any type of sleep training, J and I will just have to get through this difficult stage.

So far, I love being a mother.  Way more than I like being pregnant – you all probably know that I wasn’t the biggest fan of pregnancy, but I do have to say that I’m loving the end result.  Henry is starting to be awake more and more, and not just because he’s crying.  The faces that he makes and the looks and smiles that he gives melt my heart every since time I look at him.  My favorite thing is still to just hold and cuddle him to me and stare at him, marveling that he’s mine.  I love this kid so much!

Baby Burrito. At least someone can sleep well in this household.

One thought on “Been too Long…

  1. I’m so glad you posted! I’ve been waiting eagerly for an update! 🙂 I’m so glad you’re enjoying motherhood! I have to say I’m not sure I’m really looking forward to the pregnancy part either but the thought of having a tiny human in my arms at the end makes it all seem worth it!

Leave a Reply

