Leek

Dear Poppy Seed –

Yesterday you hit the 38 week mark!  I can’t believe how fast this pregnancy has gone and how close we are to the end.  While this pregnancy hasn’t exactly been easy for me, I wouldn’t trade a single minute of any of it for anything.  I can’t express how excited I am to hold you in my arms and revel in the fact that you’re mine.  According to the ultrasounds that I’ve had you’re around 7 1/2 pounds right now – which is a perfect size for a baby in my opinion.  This week you’re shedding the vernix and lanugo that covers your skin and generally getting ready for life outside the womb.

I’ve been on bed rest for a week now.  It hasn’t been horrible, and thankfully I don’t have to go too much longer till I can leave the house and get up off the sofa without your dad herding me back to my original spot.  My back has really been hurting lately, as has my pelvis.  You’re sitting really low right now, and it feels like my pelvis is stretching out to accommodate you (which while uncomfortable needs to happen).

While I’ve been on bed rest, your dad’s and my good friends Kathleen and Eric came over to help your dad clean the house from top to bottom to get it ready for you.  I can’t express to them how grateful we are for their help and how lucky we are to have friends like them to help out when we really need it.  They were here almost the whole day, but our house  now gleams from their hard work.  Thank you so much Kat and Eric, you’ve made everything so much less stressful for us, and we couldn’t ask for better friends!

I had a midwife appointment yesterday that pretty much left me reeling, which is why your post is a day late (sorry for that).  My midwife is concerned about my heart rate and blood pressure at the moment.  She’s concerned that my heart rate always being elevated is now causing your heart rate to be elevated.  And if my heart rate is elevated at rest, it’ll go even higher when I’m in labor – which could cause your heart rate to get way too high.  On top of that my blood pressure is still high – and it’s looking like I have the beginnings of preeclampsia – although I don’t have it yet.

So, what’s happening now is that I’ve been put on a beta blocker to help lower my heart rate and help lower my blood pressure.  I have a midwife appointment on Monday, and if the beta blocker has done its job by then, then it’s very likely that I’ll be induced on Monday or Tuesday.  If it hasn’t, they’ll give me until Thursday to wait to induce me, but Thursday is the longest that they’ll wait to induce.  I really don’t have too much longer until I get to hold you in my arms.  And while things aren’t necessarily going the way that I envisioned, I can’t wait to meet you and get to know you!

Keep growing and remember that I love you so much!  I’ll see you very soon!!

– Mom

Leave a Reply

