Blood Sugar Levels So Far

I mentioned at my last midwife appointment that my midwife was giving me one more week to get my blood sugars under control.  I thought I would put a record of what exactly my blood sugar readings have been over the past week.  The parameters for gestational diabetes are as follows:

  • Fasting levels need to be no lower than 60 and no higher than 90
  • Two hours after meals should be no lower than 60 and no higher than 120

5/24/2012

  • Fasting: 89
  • Breakfast: 89
  • Lunch: 88
  • Dinner: 90

5/25/2012

  • Fasting: 81
  • Breakfast: 94
  • Lunch: 79
  • Dinner: 95

5/26/2012

  • Fasting: 85
  • Breakfast: 97
  • Lunch: 94
  • Dinner: 106

5/27/2012

  • Fasting: 90
  • Breakfast: 91
  • Lunch: 100
  • Dinner: 94

5/28/2012

  • Fasting: 86
  • Breakfast: 118
  • Lunch: 103
  • Dinner: 116

5/29/2012

  • Fasting: 86
  • Breakfast: 107
  • Lunch: 115
  • Dinner: 103

5/30/2012

  • Fasting: 90

Everything so far has been within range, which I can say that I’m really proud of.  There have been some close calls, and to be honest I’m not sure why they happened.  I eat the same thing for breakfast everyday – yet those sugar readings are all over the place which makes no sense to me.  Not to mention that I’ve had a couple of fasting numbers be at the very limit of “ok.”  I’ve found that drinking a small glass of milk and having two hershey kisses at night before bed really helps with my fasting numbers (and it gives me just the little bit of chocolate that I crave).

I’ve been going on at least one walk every day.  During the work week, I can usually fit one in after lunch for about 15 minutes, and then I’ll go on another one when I get home for about 40 minutes.

I’m hoping that all of this monitoring and work that I’m doing will affect the baby in a good way and keep him from getting too big.  I’ll find out tomorrow how my midwife thinks I’m doing.  And I have another ultrasound to measure the baby at my 38 week appointment (two weeks away), and hopefully I’ll only hear good news there!

 

2 thoughts on “Blood Sugar Levels So Far

Leave a Reply

