The Baby Isn’t Breech

And that’s just about all the good news that I got from my midwife appointment yesterday.

According to the ultrasound tech and my midwife the baby is measuring around 6 lbs 3 oz at the moment.  He’s in the 85th percentile for weight, and his chest measurement is in the 90th percentile.  Basically what that boils down to is that my baby is measuring big, and his chest and shoulders are way bigger than they should be.  I’ve been given one more week to get my fasting sugars under control.  If I can’t do that, then I’ll be going on medication to help me get them under control.

I’m also going to be having another ultrasound at about 38 weeks (hasn’t been scheduled yet) to check the baby’s growth one more time.  If it looks like he’s still a barrel chested buddah then I’ll be going the induction route at 39 or 40 weeks.

So, the plan of attack from here until the birth is that I’ll be watching what I eat a whole lot more closely (not that I wasn’t doing that before, as my 2 hour after meals levels are perfect).  I’ll also be upping my exercise during the day so that any excess sugar in my system will hopefully be converted to energy instead of going straight to the baby.  So, that means a 30-60 minute walk every day – no matter what.  I’m going on a walk during my lunch break today since I can’t go this evening because of my Birth and Baby class.

I feel like I’ve failed.  That everything I’ve been doing so far just hasn’t been enough.  I pack a whole lunch box full of nutritious food to bring with me to work everyday.  I only drink water, milk when I can fit the carbs in, or unsweet tea (when I just need something different than water).  I haven’t had ice cream or a real dessert since I was diagnosed with GD.  I have had some sweets at night, after dinner to help stabilize my blood sugar while I’m sleeping – but it’s not every night, and it’s only when my dinner glucose numbers were on the low side.  I’ve been walking about 3 to 4  times a week, and I do have room for improvement here and I’m going to bump that up to 7 times a week, at least.  I’ve done all of these things, and it hasn’t been enough to keep this kiddo from being too big.  So, now I’m trying even harder and trying to remain positive.  I guess we’ll see how I do in a week.

Enough doom and gloom – how about some beautiful baby pictures?!

Those are toes and a foot on the right side next to his cheek.

For most of the ultrasound he was holding his foot up by his head (super cute), but I can’t get those images to load for some reason.  I think he’s absolutely adorable!  And all of these things that I’m going through will be all worth it for him.

Leave a Reply

