Cantaloupe (Again)

Dear Poppy Seed –

34 weeks.  That just seems amazing, and it’s even more amazing that we have about 6 weeks left until we finally get to be face to face (I can’t tell you how excited I am for that).  According to babycenter, this week you’re the size of a cantaloupe, and according to the bump, you’re the size of a butternut squash (both of which have already been used), which is why I decided to go with a cantaloupe again.  You know weigh in at about 5 lbs and are close to 20 inches long.  I’m hoping that we can get a better idea of how big you are at your ultrasound next week.  I know that they’re quite unreliable when it comes to determining weight, but it would still be nice to have an estimate.  Your nervous system and your lungs are continuing to mature everyday.  As far as other new developments for you go, it just seems like you’re putting the finishing touches on everything so that you’ll be good to go for the birth and life on the outside.

I’ve been feeling really tired lately.  It probably doesn’t help that I don’t sleep well.  I usually have to get up to pee 2 or 3 times a night, and then there is the constant problem of just not being able to get comfortable.  Add in the restless leg syndrome and the leg cramps – and nights can be somewhat miserable.  I’ll survive though, and I promise you that it’s all worth it because I get you.  My belly seems to be getting pretty big – but that probably goes without saying.  One of my favorite things to do lately is to stare at my belly while you’re moving.  Watching you punch and roll and jab is seriously entertaining to me.  You can see my stomach move with you and it’s pretty crazy to look at.  If I can ever catch it on video I’ll have to share it with you.

Your dad and I got a lot of cool stuff for you at the baby shower that your Aunt Bethany threw.  We are now equipped with a bassinet, a Pack ‘N Play, a swing, a tummy time mat, a breast pump, a bouncer seat, as well as a ton of super cute clothing.  Your bassinet and Pack ‘N Play are being tested out by our cats – specifically Healey.  He loves taking naps in your Pack ‘N Play.  It’s nice to know that it’s comfy enough for a cat – so it should be super comfy for you too (I hope you don’t mind sharing – but I promise you won’t have to share at the same time).

Your dad and I did something we haven’t done in a while yesterday.  We went and hung out at the local wine bar.  I sat and drank water while your dad had a couple IPAs.  I mandated that he had to stick to IPAs since I’m really not a fan of all that hoppy bitterness that comes along with them, and it was the only type of beer that wouldn’t make me jealous.  We sat and talked and had a wonderful time just hanging out, and then we went out to dinner afterwards.  We had such a good time, and I’m really hoping that it’s not taboo to bring a baby to a wine bar – because I don’t want to stop going once you’re born.  We’ll have to figure out a way to still make it happen after you arrive, but I have no doubts that we will.  As you’ll come to know your parents can be lushes at times.

I can’t tell you enough how much I’m looking forward to holding you and getting to know you.  I love you so much.

– Mom

Leave a Reply

