Maternity Leave

I put in my notice for maternity leave.  I decided to start my time off around the 40 week mark.  I say “around” because I hit 40 weeks on a Thursday, and it seems weird to me to stop working on a Thursday.  So, my plan is to work the whole week of my due date (unless baby boy decides to come early) and start my maternity leave on July 2nd.

I had to give a list to my employers of everything that I do and how many hours a week I spend on a specific task.  They’re trying to decide if they want to bring in someone to cover for me, or if they just want to divvy up my responsibilities to everyone else in the office.  Either way though, it’s not my problem.

Right now I’m hoping that I won’t have to wait long for this baby to announce his arrival, but the worst case scenario is that I’ll have a little less than two weeks off before the baby is born and then 6 weeks of maternity leave before I have to start working from home.  All in all, that’s not too shabby.  Of course, all of this planning will be for nothing if the baby comes before his due date, but that’s ok with me.  I’m actually kinda hoping for a baby that’s born at 38 or 39 weeks.  That will be more time that J can spend with us before he has to start the preparations for the next school year.

Leave a Reply

