Grrrrrrr

I’m having a hard time getting my fasting numbers under control.  I had 3 good days in a row, and then this morning I saw a 97 on the stupid meter (remember it’s supposed to be between 60-90).  I have no idea what I’m doing wrong.  I’ve been searching all over the internet to see how to get fasting numbers under control and all of the suggestions don’t seem to be very helpful or flat out don’t work.  I emailed the diabetes nutritionist this morning, hoping to get some help from her – so we’ll see what she has to say.

I really don’t understand where I went wrong yesterday.  I had a salad loaded with fruit and veggies with grilled chicken for dinner at 6pm.  My after dinner blood sugar (2 hours later) was 94 (supposed to be under 120).  I had a snack of popcorn and a glass of 1% milk at 9:30pm before I went to bed, and my fasting number this morning was 97.  It made me want to throw the stupid fucking meter across the room…..I just hate that when you follow all of the rules, of which there are many, that your body can still refuse to cooperate.

I’m just super irritated and frustrated about this.  I really want to be able to control this with diet and exercise.  I can’t explain how much I do not want to be put on medication.  I have the greatest fear that being put on medication will mean that I’ll also have to be induced at 40 weeks – which is something that I also really want to avoid.

I’m going to wait and see what the nutritionist has to say, and if I don’t get anything helpful from her then I’m going to try having a little sugar before bed and see if that helps (I’ve read that it can work for some people – it’s worth a shot).

2 thoughts on “Grrrrrrr

  1. 😦 That sounds so totally frustrating. Trying to follow all the rules but still getting in trouble. I guess with food and bodies, it’s just not an exact science and you can’t totally predict how your body will react. It really sucks that you’re having to deal with this when you’re SOOOO close to meeting your little one! Just think of Wilson Phillips… Hold on for One More Day!

Leave a Reply

