My Birth Plan

As I mentioned yesterday, my midwife and I sat down and went over my birth plan.  She pointed out some things that the hospital wouldn’t allow (such as the doula being in the operating room in the event of a C-Section) and somethings that she would advise we do (such as not waiving the vitamin K shot).  I’m meeting with a pediatrician next week and I’m going to ask about alternative vaccination schedules because I don’t want any vaccines given at birth – but I’m not listing that on here until I chat with the doctor.

So, without further ado, here’s are my birth wishes:

Labor:

  • I would like to be able to eat and drink throughout labor, as desired.
  • Please do not administer an IV or heparin lock unless there is a clear medical indication that it is necessary.
  • Please limit the number of vaginal exams and inform me before doing one.  I would not like to know how I’ve progressed, unless I specifically ask.
  • I would like intermittent monitoring of my baby.  I would not like to be restricted to the bed if at all possible.
  • Please do not permit observers such as interns, students or unnecessary staff, into the room without my permission.
  • Please knock before entering the room.

Labor Induction / Augmentation:

  • I would like to avoid induction unless it’s medically necessary.
  • I do not want to discuss induction prior to 42 weeks, unless it is medically relevant.
  • Please do not offer me anesthesia/ analgesia unless I ask for it.  I’m planning a natural birth.
  • I would like to avoid pitocin throughout the entire birth process.

Delivery:

  • I would like to wait until I feel the urge to push before beginning the pushing process.  I would like to push or not push according to my instincts and would prefer to not have guidance or coaching in this effort, unless I ask for help.
  • I would like to deliver in a birthing pool, and have made arrangements to have one at the birth.
  • If I can’t deliver in the birthing pool for whatever reason, I do not want a vacuum or forceps assisted birth.
  • If I can’t deliver in the birthing pool for whatever reason, I would like a warm compress or oil applied to my perineum to help prevent tearing.
  • I refuse to have an episiotomy.   I would rather tear than have an episiotomy.

After birth:

  • I would like my baby to be on my stomach/chest immediately after delivery.
  • I would like to breastfeed soon after birth.
  • Please allow the umbilical cord to stop pulsating before it is cut.
  • My husband would like to cut the cord.
  • If I’m given an IV or heparin lock I would like it removed as soon as possible after delivery.

Newborn Care:

  • I would like to hold my baby skin to skin during the first few hours to help regulate my baby’s body temperature and to start the bonding process.
  • I would like to hold my baby through the delivery of the placenta and any repair procedures.
  • Please evaluate my baby on my chest or abdomen.
  • If my baby must be taken for evaluation, my husband will accompany our baby at all times.
  • We choose to waive the administration of eye antibiotics.
  • We do NOT want our baby to be circumcised at the hospital.

Cesarean Section Delivery:

  • I would like to avoid a cesarean delivery if at all possible.
  • If a cesarean is necessary, I expect to be fully informed of all procedures and actively participate in the decision making.
  • I would like my husband to be present during the surgery.
  • I would like to be the first to hold my baby after delivery.
  • If possible, I would like for my baby to be assessed while I’m holding it.

 

This plan fits nicely onto one page (once you mess with the margins and font size), and I’m really rather proud of it.  It doesn’t have everything on there, but it definitely has the major points, and I think it gets across what I want and what I don’t want.

 

Leave a Reply

