Durian Fruit

Dear Poppy Seed –

This weeks size comparison is a bit obscure – outside of watching  Tony Bourdain on “No Reservations,” I don’t think I’ve ever seen a durian.  33 weeks along (7 weeks to go!) you now weigh over 4 lbs and you’re over 17 inches long.  Your dad and I will get a better estimate on how big you actually are in two weeks when we have an ultrasound scheduled to track your growth (I can’t tell you how excited I am for that – your last ultrasound was at 18 weeks!).  According to all the books and websites you’re still packing on the pounds (reasonably so).  Your bones are hardening – although your skull will remain soft for quite some time.  You’re also learning to coordinate your breathing with sucking and swallowing – which seems really important, so don’t slack on those skills.  Because of all the growing that you’re doing my amneotic fluid levels have maxed out – which is why your kicks and punches are feeling pretty strong right about now.

Pregnancy induced insomnia is what’s up with me this week.  I thought I was having trouble sleeping before – but this is just excessive.  Last night I went to bed at 10:30, I was up at 12:30, 1:30, 3:30, 5:00, 6:00 and I got up at 6:30 (and those are just the times that I remember).  All of that equates to one tired and cranky me.  It’s not so bad on the weekend when I can just keep going back to sleep until I real (kinda sorta) rested.  But during the week it’s really hard to not pass out on my desk at work.  I’ve been having some major round ligament pain lately too – but it’s quick to pass and is just more annoying than anything else.  I’m also one very swollen and puffy person.  I think all the weight that I’ve gained (minus what you weigh) is all fluid!  Not only are my feet and ankles now perpetually swollen, but my calves are as well – and it goes pretty much up to my knees.  I have to say that the swollen feet thing is incredibly uncomfortable and can even be painful at times (like when you want to move your feet – and the skin feels too tight for that to happen).  I’m amazed that my feet and ankles don’t have stretch marks.

Life is busy right now gearing up for your arrival.  Your dad and I keep buying more and more stuff that we’ll need for you.  We got curtains for your room last night as well as a bunch of baby sized hangers.  All of your clothes look super sweet/cute hanging in your closet.  All of the clothes that we have for you so far are washed and put away.  I still need to wash your diapers a bunch of times to get them absorbent for you.  I have yet to pack my hospital bag (I’m a slacker, I know).  I’m not really sure what I need to put in it – all of the stuff that the websites list seems a bit excessive to me.  Plus, I don’t want to pack something that I might need prior to your arrival, because then I’ll take it out of the bag and then forget to put it back in…

Work is starting to look for someone to cover for me while I’m gone – which seems weird.  I think that I’m slowly starting to get ready for you to be here, once all my ducks are in a row I’ll feel even better about it.    Your dad is super excited for you – he even got teary eyed last night because he’s so excited to meet you.  For the past three nights he’s read you a bedtime story – from the small collection that we have.  I hope that you know how very lucky you are to have a father that loves you so much – I think that we’re both very lucky to have him in our lives.

Keep growing and moving and be start preparing to make your way into the world so your dad and I can hold and cuddle you!

Love,

– Mom

One thought on “Durian Fruit

  1. I’ve seen a durian!! I saw an elephant step on it and eat it in Thailand! (Actually, the elephant stepped on it, but then decided it wasn’t ripe enough and turned up its trunk at the mushed durian. He didn’t eat it.)

Leave a Reply

