Blood Sugar Issues

Ever since writing that post that everything seemed to be going well with tracking my blood sugar, things haven’t been so simple.  On Saturday, I had to go into work for a couple hours.  I took my lunch and my meter with me, and 2 hours after lunch I got everything ready to take my blood sugar.  I had the test strip out and the meter, and the lancing device with a new needle ready to go.  I chose and finger, pricked it….and nothing.  I couldn’t get a single drop of blood out of my finger.  So, I picked another finger, and the same thing happened!  I ended up having to stick myself 10 times before I was able to get any blood out of me and have it be enough to test.  Needless to say that my fingers were sore after all of that.  Looking back, I  now think that the main problem was that it was hot in the office that day and my hands and fingers were swollen and therefore caused me to not bleed so well or even at all.

Things have been going a little smoother since then.  I’ve found that it’s best to prime my fingers before I prick them – meaning that I’ll massage a finger for a few moments, pushing blood up into my finger, and then stab myself and squeeze the blood out.  This seems to go much better for me.

For those of you who are interested, here are my blood sugar reading so far.  Remeber that the fasting one needs to be under 90 and the ones after meals need to be under 130.

4/21

  • Fasting 77
  • Breakfast 98
  • Lunch 83
  • Dinner 139

4/22

  • Fasting 89
  • Breakfast 111
  • Lunch 94
  • Dinner 99

4/23

  • Fasting 90
  • Breakfast 97

Over all I think that I’m doing pretty well, especially since I’ve only been doing this for 3 days.

On the downside, I’ve been tracking what I eat on sparkpeople so that if my blood sugar reading is high, I can go back and see exactly where I miss stepped.  But, I don’t think that I’m eating enough for almost 31 weeks pregnant.  I’m generally only eating 1400-1500 calories a day.  I eat when I’m hungry, and  trying to make good choices.  And I can’t just eat whatever, because then my blood sugar will spike.  So, I need to find a way to eat more while still keeping my blood sugar in a reasonable range.

I go to a gestational diabetes class on Wednesday, so hopefully I’ll be able to learn more about what and how to eat.  I have to say that this is frustrating.  I want my baby to have all of the nutrients that he needs, but I also don’t want him to gain too much weight….and to be honest I have little to no control over any of this.

I guess all I can do is try my best….

Leave a Reply

