Cardiologist Appointment

I had my appointment with the cardiologist yesterday.  My appointment was first thing in the morning, and when I walked into the office, I swear that every person in the waiting room turned and looked at me, I’m not even kidding or exaggerating.  It didn’t help that I was the youngest person there, but I was also the only pregnant one.  Everyone else seemed to be pushing 90.  When I went up to the receptionist to get my paperwork started they asked me a whole bunch of questions and put the answers into the computer, so I didn’t have to fill out a whole bunch of paperwork.  The only problem with this is that the receptionist kept getting my birth date wrong.  It went something like this:

Receptionist:  “Your date of birth is 3-13-1954?”

Me:  “No, 3-13-1984”

Receptionist “1954”

Me: “No, 1984, I’m 28, not 58”

Receptionist “mmmhmmm”

The woman never looked up at me the whole time she was taking this information down, so I guess she didn’t realize that I was a full half century younger than everyone else in there.

Anyway, after filling out some paperwork I was taken to the back.  I was weighed, and apparently according to their scale I’ve lost two pounds, I don’t know if it’s because it’s a different scale or because of the new diet plan that I’m on.  I was then taken to an exam room and one nurse asked me questions, while another checked my blood pressure in each arm.  It was 130/88 in my left arm, and 124/72 in my right (I’m liking the right arm better).  I was then hooked up to an EKG machine.  For those of you who haven’t had an EKG before (this is my third) they put a whole bunch of sticky pads all over your chest in different areas and then each pad is hooked up to a cord which leads to a machine.  The machine turned on and the nurse got two print outs of my heart rate from it.  They then unhooked me from the machine and took all the sticky pads off and I sat and waited for the cardiologist to come in.

I didn’t have to wait long.  He came in and looked confused for a moment and asked “how old are you?”  I told him I was 28, and he starts scratching something out on my chart and says “someone put down that you’re 58.”  I replied that if I was 58, I was looking good for my age.  The Dr. looked at my EKG print out, but doesn’t say anything and then decides to listen to my heart with his stethoscope.  When he’s done he tells me that I have a fast heart rate (gee thanks, I didn’t know that already), but that he’s not sure why.  Some people have a naturally fast heart rate, like some people have a naturally slow one.  He said that he could put me on medication to slow it down, but he doesn’t want to because 1. he doesn’t know if there’s any actual medical reason to, and 2.  it would mess with my blood pressure too much – which wouldn’t be a good thing while I was pregnant.  So, his recommendation is that I be scheduled for an ultrasound of my heart.  He wants to make sure that everything is open and pumping the way that it should be, and then we’ll go from there.  He also wants me to come back in six months so he can see what my heart does when I’m not pregnant – and see if it’s the pregnancy that’s putting added stress on it.

He did say that my heart was beating pretty fast, at a resting rate of 146 bpm (I’m in agreement that this is fast).  He also seemed to be concerned that I can feel my heart beating at different points in the day and that it’s not exercise induced.  Apparently normal people can’t feel their heart beating….I didn’t know that – but now I guess I’m special.  So, I go back in 3 weeks for an ultrasound of my heart, and I’m kinda excited about it.  I mean, how often do you get to look at your heart and see it beat on a monitor?

I didn’t really learn all that much from this appointment that I didn’t already know.  But I’m glad that we’re taking steps to make sure that everything is ok and working the way it’s supposed to.  I’ll let you know more when I do.

Leave a Reply

