Feeling Overwhelmed

I got a call from my midwife this morning wanting to talk to me about my failed glucose tolerance test.  They’re referring me to a registered dietitian to go over meal plans and what’s good to eat and what’s not, so hopefully that appointment won’t be that far out.  I’ve been trying to change my diet on my own, seeing what works based on how I feel, but it’s been really difficult.  It’s hard to know how much of what to eat when all of the information on the interwebs is contradictory.  Some say juice is bad and to never drink it, others say juice is good.  Some say to stay away from fruit in the mornings, others say to always eat fruit in the mornings…. So, it’ll be nice to get some solid information from someone.

She also put in a prescription for a blood sugar meter.  I’m to test my blood sugar 4 times a day.  Once in the morning when I wake up and the reading should ideally be less than 90.  And then the other 3 are two hours after breakfast, lunch and dinner and the reading on these should be less than 130.  She said that it might take a couple of weeks for me to get the hang of it, but that the goal is to see if we can treat it with just adjusting my diet.  If not, then we move onto pills, plus the diet change to get it in line.

I also got a call from my midwife’s office this morning informing me that they’ve set up an appointment for me with a cardiologist for tomorrow.  So, it looks like I might have been wrong and that I don’t have hypothyroidism, but instead perhaps a heart condition…..yay?

I’m starting to really feel like my body is failing me, or I’m failing it.  Every time I turn around it seems that something else is wrong with me.  My only comfort is that so far my baby seems to be doing perfectly (knock on wood).  I had a mini melt down about all of this yesterday.  I was feeling bad (probably too much sugar in my system – even though I’m watching what I eat).  I was feeling exhausted, exhausted to the point where I started crying at my desk because I felt so overwhelmed with everything that’s going on right now.  I ended up leaving work early and went home and took a nap.  It helped a lot, and when I woke up I took my dog on a long walk through my neighborhood which helped even more.  Dinner seemed to sit fine on my system, as did my evening snack.  Breakfast shook me up a little bit this morning, so I think I need to find an alternative to what I’ve been eating, but since my mind morning snack I’ve been feeling good.  As soon as I’ve gone to the dietitian I’ll post what I’m eating/supposed to eat.  i don’t want to post anything about it yet because I’m not quite sure what I’m doing is right.

I’m really hoping that things start to pick up from here on.  I don’t think that I can handle anything else.

3 thoughts on “Feeling Overwhelmed

Leave a Reply

