Pregnancy Brain?

This was the most stressful morning I’ve had in quite a while.  I got up on time, and was out the door slightly ahead of schedule, and I was feeling excited about that.  I walked out the door with Ali, and as I started to walk toward my car I reached down to get my keys from my purse and realized…..that I didn’t have my purse with me.  I didn’t have my keys with me, and I didn’t have a cell phone either.  The door I had just walked through was firmly shut and the door knob was locked.

This is about the time where I had a brief moment of panic.  I immediately jumped to the conclusion that I would be stuck outside my house all day, which was made worse by the fact that I knew that J wouldn’t be home until around 9pm tonight.  I wouldn’t be able to call into work to let them know I would be late and I would receive a tardy or absence because of the new attendance policy that’s in effect.  I’m not in walking distance to anywhere and I don’t know any of my neighbors.

After the panic cleared I realized that since it’s spring in North Carolina that we have several windows open at our house.  I proceeded to walk Ali and myself to the back yard and I walked over to one of my bedroom windows.  I was standing there looking at it for a moment trying to figure out how to get the screen out without damaging it from the outside….I started to fiddle with it and was shocked to see that it just slid right up.  Apparently my screens don’t lock….this fact now scares me, and we’re going to have to fix it.

So now I can get into the house but I’m trying to figure out how.  The window is about 4 feet up from the ground, which under normal circumstances wouldn’t be a problem.  Add a large pregnant belly into the equation and this scene becomes borderline ridiculous.  I can’t hoist myself up and scoot through on my belly (which would be the normal approach) for obvious reasons.  I then try to see if I  can get my butt up on the window ledge and see if I can go from there.  No dice that way either.  I then have the brilliant idea to walk around to the back porch and get a chair, so that I can step on the chair and then step from the chair into the window.  That works for me no problem, I’m not sure why that didn’t occur to me to do first.

I get in the house, grab my purse and keys, get the dog from the back yard and proceed to drive to work. At this point in time I’m hoping that I can get lucky and make it to work on time so that I don’t get a tardy.  On my way to work I hit every light between my house and the highway and then I also hit rush hour traffic on the highway (which included stupid people who go 10 mph under the speed limit in the left lane!), and once again when I got off the highway I hit every light from there to work.  But somehow I managed to clock in with two minutes to spare. I’m really not sure how that happened.

To be honest I’m not sure how I could possibly walk out the door without my purse and keys.  I’ve never done that before.  I guess it’s just one of those pregnancy brain things…..I just hope that there are no repeat performances.

4 thoughts on “Pregnancy Brain?

  1. I am in the very early stages of something that is a pregnancy I think! Complicated so I had to blog about it!! I have severe pregnancy brain and am nowhere near where you are. The dramas you can get into every day! 🙂 x

  2. There were a few days where I walked out without my purse and got to my car wondering how I was planning on getting into the car. Pregnancy brain is no joke! It’s the real deal! 🙂 Glad you were able to get back in! Could have been worse right?!

    • It definitely could have been so much worse. I could still be sitting on my back porch waiting for J to come home. Everything turned out much better than expected. I’m just shocked at myself for being that forgetful. I’ve forgotten appointments and the like but this is the first time I’ve locked myself out of the house…

Leave a Reply

