Cauliflower

Dear Poppy Seed –

This is the last week of the 2nd trimester!  It’s hard to believe that I’m 2/3s the way through with this pregnancy, but I am.  As these weeks keep flying by you keep getting bigger and bigger.  You’re now about 15 inches in length and weigh just over 2 lbs.  It’s hard to believe how much your growing every week.  Your hearing is getting better every day.  You know my voice and your dad’s voice by now, which is pretty cool that you can already recognize us.  According to “What to Expect,” if your dad puts his ear to my tummy from now on he might be able to hear your heart beat, instead of just mine.  We’ll have to try that tonight when he gets home.

I took an Equate Sleep Aid last night (it’s the Walmart brand of Unisom) and I feel like a zombie this morning.  I can’t seem to wake up.  It did help me sleep through the night, I only remember waking up once of twice, but my eyelids seriously feel like they have weights on them.  I can’t seem to get it out of my system.  I think it also affected you as well.  You were very quiet this morning when I was getting ready for work, and you’re usually much more active.  You’re kicking away right now, so I know that you’re fine, but I’m not sure I like the idea of you being knocked out as well as me.  I think if I take one again it will only be half and we’ll go from there and see how we both do.  I don’t think I have any new pregnancy symptoms to report.  I’ve just been really tired lately.  I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this weekend and sleeping in, it makes me smile just thinking about it.  My feet still swell something awful, but I do have to say it’s fun to press indentations into them, I can make them look quite funky when I want to =).  Oh!  This past weekend I was hit in the middle of the night with a leg cramp.  You know how when you wake up at night and you’re only kinda sorta awake, you’re awake enough to stretch slightly and then roll over and go back to sleep?  Well, I was stretching slightly when my right calf muscle seized up on me – which made me wake up completely.  I was trying so hard to flex my foot to help with the pain, but I just couldn’t get it to do it.  I finally had to get up out of bed (which isn’t easy to do with a large belly and a bum leg) so that I could stand up and put pressure on it.  That seemed to work, and so far I haven’t had any other instances like that.  My feet like to cramp up every now and then, but they have quick easy fixes (flexing).  Who would have thunk that leg cramps are a pregnancy symptom?  That just seems like craziness to me.

My nesting phase has kinda kicked in, at least that’s what I’m blaming this on.  Not only has it come in the form of cleaning, but also decorating.  I’ve been buying and fixing up furniture.  Planning paint colors for not only your room, but the rest of the house.  I’ve been scouring craigslist for more furniture to add to the house (it’s kinda bare in spots right now).  I’ve been keeping an eye on thrift stores.  I found the chandelier that I want to put in the dining room….It seems like my mind wants me to get my house completely together before you’re arrival, which is kinda ridiculous, as there’s way too much to do and not enough time or money to do it all.  I am trying though, and through all of this I’ve found that I really like decorating and finding the perfect piece to go in our home.  Your nursery will be completed in a couple of weeks, and I’m so excited about that!  I can’t wait to post pictures to show it off to people.  Keep growing!

Love,

– Mom

Leave a Reply

