Death by Cat and Dog

So, last night I fell asleep pretty easily and was able to sleep for most of the night, at least until around 4:00 this morning.

Here’s a little back story: J and I each have a dresser for a bedside table.  They are slightly higher than our bed, but we like it and it works for us.  We also have 3 cats (Bentley, Beemer and Healey) and a dog (Ali).

Since becoming pregnant I generally wake up in the middle of the night 1. having to go to the bathroom and 2. extremely thirsty.  So to limit the amount of trips I make in the middle of the night I keep a cup of water next to the bed.  You might be wondering where the problem is here.  You see, one of my cats (Beemer) loves to knock over cups and glasses, whether they contain liquid in them or not.  This really doesn’t sound like a big deal, except that I keep a cup of water next to the bed, and the dresser that it’s on is higher than my bed.  Which means, when she comes and knocks it over, I get doused in the face with water, needless to say this shocks/scares me out of my sleep.  I have learned to stop using glasses though, as the cat broke one when she knocked it over and then it rolled off the dresser shattering on the floor…..I need a water bottle….although the cat will probably knock that off too, but it will roll, and then I won’t be able to find it….

So, back to this morning.  I got slapped in the face with cold water at 4:00 am by my cat….Who then tried really hard to cuddle with me afterward (I was not in a cuddly mood, in fact at 4:00 this morning I believe I said I hated the cat).  It took me quite a while to fall back asleep (after I’d cleaned up the spilled water), but I managed it, kinda.

At 5:00 am, my dog decided to go nuts barking up a storm in our living room.  This wakes both J and I up, and J is given the task to herd the dog back into the bedroom so she’ll shut up and we can get some sleep.  It doesn’t work quite that well.  The dog continues to bark off and on until 6:30 this morning….

So, what started off as a good night of sleep with minimal back and hip pain, quickly escalated into a horrible morning where both J and I feel sleep deprived and exhausted….

I’m tired….is it time to go home yet?

Leave a Reply

