English Hot House Cucumber

Dear Poppy Seed –

Oh my goodness is it 26 weeks already?  That means that there’s only 14 more weeks until your estimated due date (15 more weeks from when I think you’ll actually arrive).  According to Babycenter.com you’re the size of an english hothouse cucumber this week, that seems awfully specific, but I’ll go with it.  You now weigh about 2 lbs and are 9+ inches long, it’s hard to believe how much you’re growing each week, but easy to believe it at the same time as my belly just keeps getting bigger.  The cool development this week is that you’re eyes will open.  Up until now they’ve been fused shut as they developed and sometime this week they’ll open.  You won’t be able to see much, but if I was to shine a flash light on my tummy it would probably cause you to move (don’t worry, I won’t do that to you though).  Your hearing is getting better.  You can now distinguish between my and your dad’s voice, and I’m assuming other people’s as well.  You’re now also taking practice breathes of amniotic fluid to help your lungs develop, keep working on that one please – that seems very important.  Keep growing and developing!

I feel like I’ve been struggling lately.  Sleep has become a real issue (no I haven’t picked up any unisom yet, but I will today).  Yesterday I was so tired when I came home from work that I just passed out on the sofa.  I slept from about 6:00, 8:30 when your dad made me eat dinner.  I was able to stay up for a little while then, and promptly feel back asleep at 10:00.  I keep waking up a lot.  I can always go back to sleep, but I just can’t seem to stay that way.  My hips have also really started to hurt, which disrupts my sleep as well because of all the side sleeping that I do.  My midwife said that it’s because my center of gravity has changed and I’m putting more pressure on my lower back, which also means that I’m putting more pressure on my hips.  And then there’s the fact that you also put pressure on my hips and cause my sciatic nerve to announce its presence, not fun all around.  I also found my first stretch mark…..I’m sure it’s the first of many, but it’s still depressing to look at, oh well.  I was hoping that the lotion I smear on me every day would help with that, and maybe it has I could have had more by now I guess….Your dad thinks that I should view them as a scar, kind a battle wound if you will.  That’s not half bad idea.  There’s a bright side to everything, I just have to remember to look for it.  On a non-depressing note, I think that I felt my first Braxton Hicks contraction on Wednesday.  My entire stomach seemed to tighten up on itself and it lasted that way for about 2 minutes.  It wasn’t painful, but it did sting a little bit, it was actually quite weird feeling.

Your dad is running in his first 5k this weekend.  He seems really nervous about it, but I know that he’ll do great.  I’m planning on going out to watch, so we can cheer him on together.  I’m sure that this will be the first of many that we will cheer him on at.  I know that I write this every week, but I can’t express how excited we are about you.  We can’t wait to bring you home and learn and grow as a family of three.  I feel you moving all the time now.  You’re getting so strong, some times I wonder if you’re doing mixed martial arts in there, it’s quite crazy to feel it.  Keep growing and moving and remember that I love you!

Love,

– Mom

Leave a Reply

